Next stop- Morocco

Like I have mentioned before, you don’t realize the effects of Semester at Sea or traveling in general, until you notice your way of thinking reflecting on your decisions. Any decision, from big to small, silly or important; the point is, you see a little of a “new you” every day and it can be scary.

I did not just get a poisoned travel bug, but I started to constantly want to do something useful with my life.

I saw myself constantly studying and working hard, getting closer and closer to the finish line of my college life, and doing a good job. However, I still felt like something was missing.

I didn’t understand why I had to give some of my food every time I saw a homeless on the street, hoping they would not starve; or why I had the biggest urge to smile at strangers, hoping they would have a better day; or why I actually started caring whenever I asked “how are you doing?” to random people, hoping they would see their thoughts being heard.

Overall, I did not understand why things I already did sometimes without thinking, now became something I just had to do. Not because it turned to an obligation, but because my heart begged to – every time.

In the beginning I questioned myself, “seriously? Is this to make myself feel better? Or make me feel like a better person in the middle of all these people? Cause I ain’t no saint, and don’t want to be one!”

Then I realized it was never really about me. In reality, during those moments I didn’t think about myself, not once.

And I wish more people had moments like these, to just let your heart speak and act upon it. If we were all less selfish and looked a bit more around us instead of forward all the time, we would see the bigger picture.

And I thank all of these confusing yet clear thoughts to my struggles and happiness during my travels.

That’s why I decided to take another big step on my beginners travelers’ life – to travel, obviously. But not any kind of traveling. I wanted to spend a month doing something good for the community, just because I can. Because we all can, we just have to want to do it.

It would be my last Winter Break in college, and although I would love to spend it with my family, I decided to save all the money I could and volunteer in a country full of culture, history and people.

I chose Morocco.

Próxima parada- Marrocos

Como já tinha dito antes, você não se dá conta dos efeitos do Semestre do Mar ou de viajar em geral, até quando você começa a perceber o seu jeito de pensar refletindo nas suas decisões. Qualquer decisão, grande ou pequena, besta ou importante; o importante é que você vê um pouco do “novo você” todos os dias, e isso pode assustar.

Eu não só fui pega pelo mosquito venenoso viciado em viajar, mas comecei a querer fazer algo útil com a minha vida.

Eu me vi constantemente estudando e trabalhando pesado, chegando mais perto da linda final da minha vida na faculdade, e fazendo um bom trabalho. Entretanto, eu ainda sentia que estava faltando alguma coisa.

Eu não entendia porque eu tinha que dar um pouco da minha comida toda vez que via alguém na rua, com a esperança que ele não estivesse faminto; ou porque eu tinha o maior desejo de sorrir para um estranho, com esperança de melhorar o seu dia; ou porque eu realmente comecei a me importar toda vez que perguntava “como você está?” para qualquer pessoa, com a esperança deles perceberem suas vozes sendo ouvida.

Eu não entendia porque coisas que eu já fazia muitas vezes sem pensar, agora se tornaram coisas que eu tinha que fazer. Não porque viraram uma obrigação, mas porque meu coração pedia – toda vez.

No começo eu me perguntava “Sério? Isso é para me fazer sentir melhor? Ou me fazer sentir um ser humano melhor no meio desse bando de gente? Porque eu não sou um santo, e não quero ser um!”

E daí eu me toquei que nunca teve nada a ver comigo. Na realidade, durante esses momentos eu não pensei em mim, nem uma vez.

E eu queria que mais pessoas tivessem momentos assim, de deixar o coracão falar e agir sobre ele. Se nós fossemos menos egoístas e olhássemos mais ao nosso redor ao invés de para frente sempre, enxergaríamos a imagem mais complete.

E eu agradeço a todos esses sentimentos confusos porém claros há minhas lutas e felicidades durante minhas viagens.

Por isso decidi tomar mais um grande passo na minha vida iniciante de viajante – viajar, óbvio. Mas não qualquer tipo de viagem. Eu queria passar um mês fazendo algo de bom para a comunidade, somente porque eu posso. Porque todos nós podemos, basta querermos.

Seria a minha última férias de inverno, e embora eu adoraria passar com a minha família, eu decidi juntar todo o dinheiro que poderia e fazer um trabalho voluntário em um país cheio de cultura, história e pessoas.

Eu escolhi o Marrocos.

Categories: Morocco | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Next stop- Morocco

  1. I think we all strive to do our best and make out mark in this tiny world. I can relate to how sometimes you may feel like maybe it is an obligation but really allowing yourself to think of other needs than yourself is the most priceless and selfless act. A simple smile that you may show could of just saved someone’s life or have made their day. Compassion and being vulnerable are one of the truest gifts that you can experience. Without compassion you are not able to feel and without vulnerability your unable to open your heart and let your wall down and allowing people to get inside of you. I appreciate you opening your thoughts and true feelings.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

