Nassau, Bahamas – Just the beginning/ Nassau, Bahamas – Apenas o comeco

Soon as I left Miami and embarked on a jat looking plane from American Eagle, I thought, “Holy shit, this is it.” And it is.

I saw Nassau right through my plane window. Breathless. I see amazing nature everyday living in Hawaii, yet, I’m never tired of staring at beautiful places. I learn how to  appreciate the beauty of things the more I see it.

As the plane went down, I could not stop thanking God for the experience that was bound to happen. I am so lucky and blessed, and I thank all to God and my family for making this possible.

Soon as i get to the airport I met some amazing people as Jessey, Chelle and Miho.. We caught a cab to the hotel, which the taxi driver was pretty nice. He was making fun of us because we could not understand what he was saying, although he spoke English. I am still in love of the way they talk. They speak English, of course, but their accent is music to me. Maybe because it reminds me of all the reggae songs I listen to.

Anyways, the ride from the airport to the hotel already made me think about the Bahamas and its lifestyle. I saw these amazing enormous mansions on the way. I never thought of the Bahamas that way. Then, we hit the areas of just how I’ve imagined Nassau – middle/poor class, small and kind of old houses, people walking around – and I smiled. Why? I don’t know, it reminded me of some parts of my hometown Salvador, and the reason why I felt at home. The simplicity, I love it.

Towne Hotel — Amazing place! Simple, full of Bahamian artwork all over the place. Oh, and a parrot. He is a mean one though, would not let me touch him. The hotel was full of the Semester at Sea students, which made it much better.

Drinking a Pina colada on the beach of Junkanoo, catching a bus to Cable beach and realizing how easy it is to catch a bus here, going to the Atlantis in Paradise Island, going down slides in water full of sharks, dancing at Señor Frogs, eating conch – local food made with fish- at the most famous Twins Brother restaurant known as “Da Fish Fry” are just a few things that made my stay here in Nassau the most amazing one.

I would say just walking around seeing all the new faces of the locals, and getting to know the Semester at Sea peeps are the highlights. The bond we made even before leaving is unexplainable.

I am so happy to be here, and to be able to say “I am sailing tomorrow.” Oh man, TOMORROW!

Remember, NO FACEBOOK, NO CELLPHONE, NO INTERNET. EMAIL ME AT: suse.sampaiosimoes.s12@semesteratsea.org

____________________________________________________________________

Nassau, Bahamas… O que posso dizer desse lugar? O comeco da viagem para toda uma vida! Eu estou aqui ha quatro dias, e nao tem palavras para descrever o quanto eu gostei.

Logo quando sai de Miami e embarquei em uma aeronave mais parecida com um jat da American Eagle, eu pensei, “Nossa, e agora.” E assim e.

Eu vi Nassau pela janela do avião. Ofegante. Eu sempre vejo muita natureza maravilhosa vivendo no Hawaii, mas nunca me canso de olhar para lugares lindos. Eu aprendi a apreciar a beleza das coisas cada vez mais.

Enquanto o avião baixava, eu nao parava de agradecer a Deus por essa experiencia que apenar iria começar. Eu sou tao sortuda e abencoada, e agradeco tudo a Deus e a minha família, por fazer isso possível para mim.

Logo quando cheguei no aeroporto conheci pessoas maravilhosas como Jessey, Chelle e Miho. Pegamos um taxi para o hotel, em que o motorista foi muito gentil. Ele estava rindo da nossa cara porque nao entendiamos o que ele dizia, mesmo ele falando Ingles. Eu estou apaixonada pelo jeto que eles falam. Eles falam Ingles, claro, mas o sotaque deles e como musica para os meus ouvidos. Deve ser porque me lembra todas as musicas de reggae que eu escuto.

De qualquer modo, a ida do aroporto para o hotel ja me fez pensar sobre as Bahamas e o estilo de vida. Eu vi umas casas imensas no caminho. Nunca pensei no Bahamas desse jeito, com esses casaroes. mas, depois chegamos na area em Nassau em que era extamente como eu tinha imaginando – classe media/pobre, as casas pequenas e velhas, pessoas andando para todos os lados – e eu sorri. Porque? Nao sei, me lembrou de algumas partes da minha cidade natal Salvador, e a razao porque eu me senti em casa. A simplicidade, eu amo.

Hotel Towne — Lugar maravilhoso! Simples, cheio de arte das Bahmas. Ah, e um papagaio, muito mal por sinal, pos nao me deixava toca-lo. O hotel estava cheio de estudantes do Semestre no Mar, que foi melhor ainda.

Beber uma Pina Colada na praia de Junkanoo, pegar um onibus para a praia Cable e se da conta o quanto eh facil pegar um onibus aqui, ir para o parque Atlantis na ilha Paradise Island, cair de um tubo em uma piscina cheia de tubaroes, dancar no Senor Frogs, comer conch – comida local feita de peixe – no restaurante mais famoso Twins brothers mais conhecido como “Da Fry Fish” sao somente algumas razoes que fez a minha estadia aqui em Nassau ser simplesmente maravilhosa.

Eu diria que andar me aventurando por ai e conhecer rostos novos do locais, e conhecer os estudantes do Semestre no Mar foram as experiências mais importantes. O laco que fizemos ate antes de ir embora foi inexplicável.

Estou muito feliz de estar aqui, e poder dizer “Estou navegando amanha.” Nossa cara, AMANHA!

Lembrem-se: SEM FACEBOOK, SEM CELULAR, SEM INTERNET. EMAILS PARA:

suse.sampaiosimoes.s12@semesteratsea.org

Categories: Bahamas | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Nassau, Bahamas – Just the beginning/ Nassau, Bahamas – Apenas o comeco

  1. Wow, Suse! The adventure really is beginning! I can feel the excitement in your posts and I LOVE the fabulous photos! Now I have another place to add to my long list of adventures I want to have!

  2. Those photos are AMAZING. I just love the colors. What an adventure!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

