I am on a ship!

Few months ago, I remember stalking Semester at Sea’s website and all its videos on youtube, pictures oh Facebook and past students’ thoughts on their blogs.

Here I am today, making videos on the same ship, taking pictures of all the places I already saw on a screen, and writing my own blog about it. It just does’t seem real. Yes, I am now officially living on the Semester at Sea’s famous MV Explorer — and sailing!

As I was saying good-bye to the Bahamian taxi driver, that laughed at us while we were melting hot, I walked closer and closer to the ship. I had a huge backpack on, and two enormous suitcases that seemed so heavy. I mean, I am living four months in this place, I acutely had to pack something useful.

The line to get on the ship was huge, and all I could see was students with their heavy suitcases. We all had that same look on our faces – clueless. We were so excited, it was shinning through our eyes; however, we had no idea what to expect. We all had to go through the whole bags screening process just like an airport, then passport check for all the visas, and finally on the ship we were able to get “checked in.”

When I first stepped in, I couldn’t really believe I finally made it. After everything I had to go though to get here, all I had on, was a smile on my face.
The line is not the only obstacle but all the process we, semester at sea students, go through before we even think about getting on the ship. All the financial freak out, the planning that never works, the emotional process of even thinking about these countries, the fear of leaving those behind and the excitement of meeting the unknown just drive us crazy! Man, I’m tired, I deserve a nap on my new bed.

Nope. The first two days were full of orientations, every single type of them. It seemed like it was never over. Do we really need to know all this in order to live on a ship? I guess so.

Now, most of the orientation and drills are done, some students that couldn’t get on the ship for visa issues are finally here, school already started, and we are heading to Dominca, our next stop!

And I am getting used to this new life of mine of staring at the horizon everyday, meeting new people at every second, getting used to the whole rocking side to side and liking engine noise! Living on the ship is pretty interesting. I love my room (I’m still getting lost), my Bulgarian roommate, and cannot complain how I work out and even study staring at the ocean. Oh yeah, I am not seasick, although half of the ship is! Lucky me!

It’s not a boat, it’s a ship. it’s not a cruise, it’s a voyage of discovery!

_____________________________________________________________

 

Alguns meses atras, eu lembro nao conseguir parar de olhar o site do Semestre no Mar e todos os seus vídeos no Youtube, fotos no Facebook e as opiniões nos blogs de outros estudantes.

 

Aqui estou hoje, filmando os meus propios vídeos, tirando fotos em lugares que eu ja vi em tela, e escrevendo o meu propio blog. Ainda nao me parece real. Sim, eu estou oficialmente vivendo no famoso MV Explorer do Semestre no Mar — e navegando!

 

Enquanto eu dizia adeus para o taxista Bahamian, que ria da minha cara porque eu derretia de calor, eu caminhava cada vez mais perto do navio. Eu estava com uma mochila imensa nas costa, e com duas malas enormes que pareciam tao pesadas. Digo, eu vou viver quatro meses nesse lugar, dessa vez preciso fazer a mala com coisas que sejam pelo menos importantes.

 

A fila para entrar no navio estava gigante, e o único que eu conseguia ver era os estudantes com suas malas pesadas. Todos nos tinhamos a mesma cara — sem entender nada. Estavamos tao ansiosos, que ate brilhava nos nossos olhos; mas, nao tinhamos ideia do que esperar. Tivemos que passar pela parte de passar as malas pelo scaner que nem nos aeroportos, checar os passaportes com os visas, e finalmente no  navio conseguimos nos livrar de tudo.

 

Quando pisei no navio, eu nao acreditei que eu consegui. Depois de tudo que passei para chegar ate aqui, tudo que eu tinha era um sorriso na cara. A fila nao foi o unico obstáculo, mas o processo que nos, estudantes do Semestre no Mar, temos que passar antes de chegar ate o navio. A loucura financeira, todos os planos que nunca dao certo, o processo emocional so de pensar nesses países, o medo de deixar as pessoas para traz e a ansiedade de conhecer o desconhecido nos deixam loucos! Cara, estou tao cansada, mereco um cochila na minha cama nova.

 

Nao mesmo. Os primeiros dois dias foram cheios de orientações, de todos os tipos. Parecia que nunca ia acabar. A gente precisa realmente saber tudo isso para morar em um navio? Creio que sim.

 

Agora, que quase todas as orientações já chegaram ao fim, os estudantes que estavam faltando por problemas com os visas finalmente chegaram, as aulas já começaram, e estamos a caminho de Dominica, nossa próxima parada!

 

E eu estou me acostumando com essa minha nova vida de olhar para o horizonte todos os dias, conhecendo pessoas novas a cada segundo, me

acostumando com o balanço do mar de um lado pro outro e ate a gostar do barulho do motor!

Morar em um navio e bem interessante. Amo o meu quarto (eu ainda me perco ate chegar nele), a menina da Bulgaria que comparte o quarto comigo, e nao posso reclamar de eu malhar e ate estudar olhando para o mar. Ah sim, nao estou ficando doente com o balanco das ondas, apesar de metade do navio esta vomitando! Sou sortuda!

 

Nao e um barco, e um navio. Nao e um cruzeiro, e uma navegação de descobertas!

Categories: At Sea, Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I am on a ship!

  1. It’s so lucky you are not seasick! You deserve a break after getting sick right before the trip. From now on, smooth sailing!!! And studying and meeting incredible people on board and off! I’m still so excited for you! It’s wonderful that you are keeping this blog so all of us can have an adventure too. AND to make it in two languages–impressive! I would try to read it in Portuguese, but I really need to learn Spanish first since there are more places I can speak that–well, could, if I’d ever learn it properly! I do like some of the songs, I think they’re from Brazil, that Wendy plays for us, and a couple you played too.

    So does everyone know you can teach them Zumba? That would be a really fun way to keep fit in tight quarters.

    I want to hear more about the Bulgarian roommate–what language to you use to communicate? What about everyone else? You’ll probably know a dozen languages before the semester is over.

    But it’s just beginning! Yay! Enjoy!!!!!
    Besos!
    Suzanne

  2. Estou empolgadíssima!!! Vamos lá!!!

  3. Rose Sampaio

    My love,

    I’m sailing on your words! You have the sensitivity and the potential to capture the natural beauty of each place, the lifestyle of people. An experience with each discovery!
    I’m learning from you!
    I love you. Missing you. Mom Rose
    Meu amor,
    Eu estou navegando em suas palavras! Voce tem a sensibilidade e o potencial para
    capturar a beleza natural de cada lugar, o estilo de vida das pessoas.
    A cada experiencia uma nova descoberta! Eu estou aprendendo tanto com voce!\
    Saudades, te amo. Mae Rose

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

