Dominica, “Nature Isle of the Caribbean”

I am not going to lie, but I felt like an idiot when I first read my itinerary and saw “Dominica” and the first country that came to my mind was the Dominican Republic. NO! Dominica is its own country and it acutely has nothing in common with the Dominican Republic.

When I first woke up in the morning, I went to grab breakfast and noticed we were docked already. Funny feeling not seeing the ocean the first look I take outside. There was the beautiful view of Roseau instead. It was so much green and warmth — just how I like it.

Before each port, the school offers orientations for us, so we can have a a good understanding of the countries we are visiting. They give us background history, the okay and not okay things to do, where to go, what to eat and things like that. However, I had no idea what to expect from Dominica. First, I did not even know this amazing island in the Caribbean existed until Semester at Sea. What a shame. So here I am, to let all of you know how breathtaking this country is.

I bumped with some friends after breakfast, and we all decided to just walk around in town for a little bit. We ended up catching a cab, and the taxi driver was called “Yankee.” He was a really funny figure. They speak English, but once again, I could not understand a word, but it just made sense somehow. I do not know what’s up with me and taxi drivers, but I just end up having the best conversations. I realized I learned so much from him in just a cab ride, that I probably would not have learned reading any book.

He took us all over the island that morning, blasting some local music, which I fell in love with. It is like a reggae kind of music with some kuduro. While he was driving he stopped by a couple of places, and I noticed he smiled and danced to every person he saw on the street. Yes, he danced! Those that truly know me, probably already know I made him teach me — and he did! I even got it on video. I had a blast, although I had no idea of what I was doing.

After driving around and stopping at some beautiful views, he took us to where they filmed pirates of the Caribbean. He also took us to town, where he introduced us to all his friends and showed us places to eat and things to do.

It is kind of sad that in today’s world, we never know when a person is being nice just because they are, or because they want money. I noticed I find myself in that position all the time since I am paying, and it makes me sad. I want to believe people just genuinely want to help, although I know that is not always the case. Yankee, however, made me feel comfortable. He showed me a picture of his two sons and his wife, and even told me about his problems. As I was making videos, taking pictures in the cab and hearing him speak, I realized those are the kind of moments I want to keep. Just meeting local people and acutely having a conversation with them, it’s what I want to do in every single country because there is when I see myself smiling the most; the simplest things. When will I ever be able to dance with a cab driver in Dominica, or even understand much more about them beyond a smile? I got to meet some other amazing people while he was driving (I forgot to mention they drive on the left side in Dominica), like a guy in the middle of the road that never said a word to me, but tried to put a snake on my neck. Yup, I can jump out of a plane, but definitely not hold a snake.

After, he took us back to the ship, (we all had to go to different school field trips in the afternoon, which I will write another post about it), and said he would pick us up at night to take us to the famous local bars that we wanted to try. So, after dinner, a huge group of us got ready for some local music in Dominica. There was Yankee, waiting for us outside. I danced so much that night! They played everything I wanted to hear– local music, hip hop, techno and even dubstep. First we went to a local bar called JR’s, and to Crazy Coconuts, where I danced even more. The DJ played “Ai Se Eu Te Pego” Brazilian song, which made me and all the Latinos go crazy.
I never saw Yankee again but he probably doesn’t even know he marked my stay here in Dominica by not just being so kind or showing me around, but to have shared a little bit about himself.

Day two in Dominica, I just walked around town with my friend Daniela from Uruguay, got to know a little bit more of the city and had a picnic on the black sand beach. The sand is black because it is volcanic. I thought that was pretty interesting. The water felt so warm, and the weather was amazing. The way the churches and the houses are structured, also made everything much more interesting.

 

After, I headed back to the ship, and had to say good bye. Dominica is definitely a place that surprised me with its people and its beauty.
_____________________
Nao vou mentir, que eu me senti uma idiota quando li no itinerário “Dominica,” e o primeiro pais que me veio na cabeça foi a Republica Dominicana. NAO! Dominica e um pais único e nao tem nada a ver com a Republica Dominicana.
Assim que eu acordei pela manha, fui tomar cafe e percebi que tinhamos parado. Foi uma sensação engraçada nao ver o mar na primeira mirada que dou a fora. Ali estava a linda vista de Roseau. Era muito verde e quente — do jeito que eu gosto.
Antes de cada porto, a faculdade nos oferece orientações, para que possamos ter um pouco de entendimento sobre os países que estamos visitando. Eles nos dao uma base sobre a historia do pais, o que pode fazer e o que nao pode, aonde ir, o que comer e coisas do tipo. Mas, eu nao tinha ideia do que esperar de Dominica. Primeiramente, eu nem sabia que essa ilha maravilhosa no Caribe existia ate quando conheci o Semestre no Mar. Que vexame. Entao, estou aqui, para que vocês possam saber o quanto esse pais e de tirar o fôlego.
Me encontrei com uns amigos depois do cafe da manha, decidimos que iamos caminhar pela centro da cidade um pouco. Acabamos pegando um taxi de turismo que o taxista se chamava “Yankee.” Ele era uma figura muito engraçada. Eles falam Inglês, mas novamente, nao dava para entender nada com o dialeto deles, mas de uma certa maneira inexplicável ate que fazia sentido. Nao sei o que eu tenho com os taxistas, mas eu sempre acabo tendo as melhores conversas com eles. Eu percebi que eu aprendi muito mais em um taxi conversando, do que eu aprenderia lendo um livro. As pessoas parecem que sao mais verdadeiras.
Ele nos levou ao redor da ilha aquela manha, e colocou a musica local deles bem alta, que eu por sinal me apaixonei. E um estilo de reggae meio com kuduro. Enquanto ele dirigia e parava em alguns lugares bonitos, eu percebi que ele sempre parava e conversava com todos na rua, e dançava. Sim, ele dançava! Aqueles que realmente me conhecem já devem imaginar que eu pedi para ele me ensinar — e ele ensinou! Tenho ate um video. Me diverti muito, mesmo sem ter nem ideia do que estava fazendo.
Depois de ter dirigido e parado nas vistas, eles nos levou para onde filmaram Piratas do Caribe. Ele também nos levou para o centro da cidade, e nos apresentou a seus amigos, e nos mostrou lugares para comer.
E triste o fato de no mundo hoje em dia, a gente nunca saber quando a pessoa esta apenas sendo boa com você, ou esta sendo boa por dinheiro. Eu percebi que eu sempre me vejo em situações do tipo, quando tenho que pagar uma pessoa. Isso me deixa triste. Eu queria acreditar que as pessoas humildemente querem me ajudar, mas eu sei que nem sempre esse e o caso. Mas, Yankee me fez sentir comfortavel. Ele me mostrou fotos de seus dois filhos e de sua mulher. Ele ainda compartilhou alguns problemas pessoais comigo, enquanto dirigia. Enquanto eu estava gravando vídeos, tirando fotos e escutando ele falar, eu percebi que sao esses os momentos que eu quero guardar. Apenas em conhecer as pessoas locais e verdadeiramente ter uma conversa sincera com eles, e o que eu gostaria de fazer em cada pais. Eu vejo que esses sao os momentos em que eu mais sorrio nessa jornada; as coisas mais simples. Quando que vou poder dançar com o meu taxista turístico em plena Dominica, ou apenas entender um pouco mais sobre eles bem mais atras de um sorriso?
Eu também conheci pessoas muito interessantes enquanto ele dirigia (esqueci de comentar que na Dominica o volante e no lado esquerdo), como um homem no meio do caminho que nao me disse uma palavra, apenas queria que eu tentasse colocar uma cobra no meu pescoço. Pois e, eu posso ate pular de um avião, mas segurar uma cobra definitivamente nao.
Logo depois, ele nos levou de volta ao navio (todos nos tinhamos excursões diferentes com nossos professores, que eu postarei em outro post sobre), e disse que ia nos pegar a noite para que a gente podesse conhecer os bares locais que queríamos ir. Entao, depois do jantar, um grupo imenso de estudantes do navio nos arrumamos e fomos conhecer os bares da Dominica. Quando saímos, ali estava Yankee, esperando a gente. Dancei muito aquela noite! Eles tocaram tudo que eu queria ouvir — musica local, hip hop, techno e ate dubstep. Primeiro, fomos em um bar chamado JR’s e outro Crazy Coconuts, onde eu dancei mais ainda. O Dj tocou “Ai Se Eu Te Pego,” a musica Brasileira, e nos latinos fomos a loucura.
Eu nunca mais vi Yankee depois disso, mas eu sei que ele provavelmente nao tem nem ideia o quanto ele marcou a minha estadia em Dominica, nao so pelo fato de ter sido tao bom com a gente e ter nos mostrado a ilha, mas sim por ter compartilhado comigo um pouco sobre sua historia.
O segundo dia em Dominica, eu andei pela cidade com minha amiga Daniela do Uruguay, conhecemos mais o centro, e depois fizemos um picnic na praia de areia negra. A areia aqui e negra porque e vulcânica. Achei esse detalhe bem interessante, ja que eu nunca tinha visto areia negra antes. A agua do mar estava quente e a temperatura maravilhosa. O jeito em que as igrejas e as casas sao estruturadas, também fizeram tudo bem mais interessante.
Depois, regressamos ao navio, e tivemos que dizer tchau. Dominica definitivamente foi um lugar que me surpreendeu com suas pessoas e sua beleza.
Categories: Dominica | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Dominica, “Nature Isle of the Caribbean”

  1. Sandadze

    BETCH! Seems like you are having a time of your life! Im glad that you have the opportunity to experience all this. Miss you chocolate face!

  2. Rose Sampaio

    Very beautiful and interesting!
    Saudades!

  3. Can’t wait to see the dancing videos! LOVED this detailed post! Besos!!! And Aloha!
    Suzanne

  4. James Gonser

    Sounds great. What did you eat? I always want to know about a local specialities. I’m glad the people were nice to you and you got to dance, but, real world, always watch out for your wallet.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

