Manaus, Amazonas

The feeling of crossing the Amazon river again does not feel the same as I leave — I get this nostalgic feeling every time I leave Brazil.
Although Manaus is not actually my hometown, it still felt like home, while I was in company of special people.

As the ship sailed away from port, I stood out on the deck in tears, and waved good bye to my country. I watched the city disappear from far, and started to see the rainforest again. I began to question how come any time spent in Brazil feels like is not enough time. Although this was a totally different experience from being in Brazil on vacation, it did not keep me from missing everything that I have there — family, love, friends, culture, language — I always wish I could stay a little longer.

I enjoyed as much as I could while I was there. I did not go into any deep adventures in the Amazon, or caught piranhas and held any alligators. However, I did have an amazing time learning about my own culture while in town.

I was a little disappointed with the fact that I was expecting much more indigenous background since I was right next to the Amazon, where the highest concentration of indigenous live with 98% of its population. For some weird reason is hard to find many indigenous cultural places in Manaus. I did find the Museu do Indio (Indigenous museum), which I enjoyed looking at their beautiful art work. I still get mad when I think of how most of them lost their identity within society.

I really wanted to go to a tribe, but part of me did not feel right. I mean, how can I just go to their “place,” take pictures of them as if they are caged extinct animals, pretend I believe they are happy with the way they live and that the government is so good to them to even give them a little place to live – in a place that was once theirs; and finally show off all my pictures and go home? It almost feels like they put up a scene for tourists because that is the only way they can probably get their funds. It is a pattern in every country where there were indigenous tribes; and it is so disappointing. I am starting to resent our colonizers.

Changing subjects, I also went the Teatro Amazonas, which gave me goosbumps. It was built in 1881 and I could acuatlly feel its history while I walked around. They even had clothes actors wore in the past, and the creative wallpapers just blew my mind. It was founded in the Ciclo da Borracha, which was an era in Brazil where a lot of places, like Manaus, became economical and cultural places. They still hold events there such as operas, and it is open to the public. I enjoy the feeling of being “put back in time.”

I got to say my favorite experience in Manaus was eating one of its cultural dishes. Who doesn’t like eating, right? I was amazed of how I did not know about many things as a Brazilian. My favorite dish was called the Tacaca, which is basically a soup made with Jambu( paracress), tucupi (broth made with manioc) and shrimp. The Jambu makes your tongue numb! That way, it almost feel like you can taste the soup even better. I know it is weird eating with your tongue numb, but it seriously tasted so good.

Another plate I really enjoyed, was the Bolinho de Dourado, made of Dourado fish, served with fried banana chips. So delicious! And to top that, I drank Bare, which is a soda only served in Amazonas. It tastes like guarana, but I cannot really explain its tastes. Nevertheless, I brought I whole pack to the ship with me!

Another experience I enjoyed, was interviewing a cop in the middle of the street in Manaus. I am doing a project for my Human Rights and Ethics class about Human Trafficking in Brazil. Knowing Brazil’s fame of having a really bad corrupt police, i did not know how far that interview would take me. I took the chance, and thought that anything he tells me I can use it for something. The cop ended up being so helpful. Although I was not allowed to record him, he answered a lot of my questions. i felt like I took a huge step on my journalism career.

Walking around in town, making friendship with locals, hanging out with fellow friends and my shipmates, eating good food and gaining knowledge of my own country added to an amazing experience. Although three days were not enough, it added a huge impact to my voyage and my life as a Brazilian.

Manaus, Amazonas

O sentimento de estar passando pelo Rio Amazonas novamente, nao e o mesmo quando estou indo embora — Eu sempre tenho esse sentimento nostálgico, toda vez que estou deixando o Brasil.
Mesmo Manaus nao sendo literalmente a cidade em que eu nasci, me senti em casa, ainda mas na companhia de pessoas especiais.

Enquanto o navio se distanciava do porto, eu fiquei la fora em lagrimas, e dava tchau ao meu pais. Eu assisti a cidade desaparecer no meio do mar, e comecei a ver a floresta novamente. Comecei a me perguntar porque sempre que estou no Brasil nunca parece tempo suficiente. Mesmo essa sendo uma experiência totalmente diferente de estar no Brasil de ferias, nao me deixou de sentir saudade por tudo que eu tenho la — familia, amor, amigos, cultura, língua — eu sempre quero ficar um pouco mais.

Eu apreciei o que pude no tempo em que estava la. Nao fui em nenhuma aventura na Amazonia como os demais, ou pesquei piranhas e nem segurei nenhum crocodilo. Mas, tive um tempo maravilhoso aprendendo sobre a minha propia cultura na cidade.

Fiquei um pouco decepcionada com o fato de ter esperado ver muito mais sobre a cultura indígena, sendo que estava ali do lado da Amazonia, a maior concentração indígena do pais com 98% da população. Por alguma razão estranha, foi difícil de encontrar lugares de cultura indígena em Manaus. Encontrei o Museu do Indio, que por sinal, adorei ver toda a linda arte. Mas, eu ainda me irrito quando eu penso o quanto praticamente todos eles perderam sua identidade na sociedade.

Eu queria muito ter ido a uma tribo, mas uma grande parte em mim nao se sentiu bem em fazer isso. Como eu posso ir para o “canto” deles, tirar fotos como se eles fossem animais em extinção, depois eu ter que fingir que acredito que eles estão felizes e que o governo faz um bem maravilhoso para eles por eles terem um “espaço,” em um lugar que uma vez era so deles; e finalmente, me amostrar com todas as fotos, e ir para casa? Me parece mais que eles fazem um show para nos turistas, porque provavelmente e o único jeito que eles fazem dinheiro. Isso ja e um padrão em todos aqueles países em que uma vez ja existiram tribos de indio; e e tao decepcionante. Estou começando a ter raiva dos nossos colonizadores.

Mudando de assunto, eu tambem fui ao Teatro Amazonas, que me deu escalafrios. Foi construído em 1881, e eu podia sentir a sua historia enquanto andava. Eles tinham as fantasias que os atores tinham usada em pecas passadas, e o papel de parede era muito criativo e bem feito. O museu foi construído durante o Ciclo da Borracha, uma era em que muitos lugares no Brasil, como Manaus, se tornou uma cidade economica e cultural. Eles ainda tem eventos como operas no museu, e e aberto para o publico. Eu gosto muito da sensação de poder “voltar ao tempo.”

Preciso admitir que a minha experiencia favorita em Manaus foi comer a comida típica de la. Quem nao gosta de comer, ne? Estava assustada com tantas coisas que eu nao sabia, sendo Brasileira. O meu prato favorito de la se chama Tacaca, que e uma sopa com folhas de Jambu, tucupi e com camarao. A folha de Jambu faz com que a lingua adormeça! Desse jeito parece ate mais facil de sentir o gosto. Eu sei que e estranho comer com a lingua adormecida, mas era sinceramente uma delicia!

Otro prato que gostei, foi o Bolinho de Dourado, do peixe Dourado, servido com banana frita. Uma delicia! E para complementar, tomei Bare, o refrigerante servido so no Amazonas. O gosto parece guaraná e tubaina. Sei la, nao sei explicar o gosto. So sei que eu comprei um pacote e trouxe pro navio comigo!

Outra experiencia que gostei muito, foi entrevistar um policial no meio da rua em Manaus. Estou fazendo um projeto para minha aula de Direitos Humanos e Etica sobre Trafico de Pessoas. Sabendo a fama da Policia corrupta do Brasil, nao sabia ate onde essa entrevista me levaria. Tirei uma chance, e pensei que qualquer coisa que ele me falasse, eu usaria para o meu projeto. Acabou, que ele me ajudou muito. Mesmo nao podendo ser filmado, ele respondeu muitas das minhas perguntas. Senti como se tivesse tomado um passo imenso na minha carreira de jornalista.

Andando no centro, fazendo amizades com pessoas locais, saindo com meus amigos que amo e meus amigos do navio, comendo boa comida, e aprendendo sobre o meu propio pais acrescentou para uma experiencia maravilhosa. Apesar de tres dias terem sido muito pouco, teve um impacto muito grande nessa minha jornada e na minha vida sendo Brasileira.

Categories: Brazil, Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Manaus, Amazonas

  1. Goodness, Suse, every word you write resonates for me, even your heartache at leaving your country when I never felt such a thing because I grew up all over the place (Hawaii, Japan, California, Kansas, Virginia) while my father was in the U.S. Army. I was born in Hawaii when it was a territory, not a state yet, but when I came back for high school, I fell in love with it and knew it would be my home even though we moved to Korea and Okinawa after that.

    The indigenous people reminded me of Puno, on Lake Titicaca, where people (Uros, I think) lived on islands made of reeds, in reed houses–and actually hugged tourists who visited. I still don’t know if they are sweet, innocent, loving people, or desperate for us to buy their beautiful embroidery, knitting, and reed pipes (like Pan’s).

    I am not an adventurous eater, but I did try cuy (guinea pig) after hearing so much about it, and Inka Kola–I can’t describe it either, but very sweet, like creme soda, and neon/acid yellow/green in color. I could not finish the bottle!

    I can hardly wait to hear about your next adventure!

    And I will share my little adventure with you: Wendy and some friends took me to the top of the Koolau Mountains in total darkness last night on the Stairway to Heaven, also called Haiku Stairs. We were cold but when the sun came up, the view was spectacular! I think it was over 6,000 stairs if you count up and down. So I did not go to Dawn’s Zumba class this morning. My knees are grateful, and I can go to Wendy’s class (your old one!) on Monday🙂

    Sending you lots of hugs from all of us!
    Love,
    Suzanne

  2. Rose Sampaio

    Descobrir e Redescobrir o nosso pais e essencial a voce como pessoa e estudante. Com certeza
    voce tera oportunidades em sua profissao de acrescentar e ajudar na historia do Brasil.
    Siga em frente!
    Love u!

  3. Julia Wheeler

    E ai Suse!! Parece que vc teve bons momentos em Manaus! que pena que vc nao conseguiu ver nenhuma tribo😦
    Realmente Manaus eh um lugar de se apaixonar. Tem tanto o que fazer! e concordo com vc no ponto que tem muitos brasileiros que nao pensam em conhecer a Amazonia. Nao sabem o que estao perdendo. Sou Amazonense de coracao.
    Vc gostou do Tacacá!! interessante…eu nunca fui tao chegada nisso. Mas sempre gostei do guaraná Baré! Vc comeu o peixe Jaraqui??? ou foi na feira??
    Depois quero ver as outras fotos que vc tirou.
    Saudades daquela terra que me trouxe tantas alegria e tao bons amigos….ahhhh Manaus
    Beijos pra vc linda. Se cuida.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

