Ghana Day I – Slave Castles

I have been back from Ghana for the past three days, and I seriously still have not processed what is going through my mind.
I promised I would keep this blog as honest as I can, especially because when this voyage is over, I want to look back, and remember how I truly felt.

I definitely would not call Ghana “fun,” but I would call that cliche saying, a “life-changing experience.” What I experienced my first time in the continent of Africa was truly a reality check.

I am going to break Ghana down into few posts since I have so much to talk about regarding this amazing place.

I woke up at 5am that morning and went to the outside deck to see Ghana from a distance. I was able to see the sunrise and the port getting closer and closer. Soon as we arrived, they already had some African drums outside and people dancing for us.

Rule number 1: Do not do anything with your left hand — In the Ghanaian culture, anytime you use your hands regarding to someone else, you need to use the right hand. The left hand is “dirty” and it is disrespectful. That was a little complicated at first, to remind myself to wave or handshake with the right hand, in order to not insult anyone.

Anyways, I grabbed breakfast, put a couple of things in my backpack and I was ready to go. A group of maybe 33 of us, got on a bus and headed to our first adventure in Africa, which was to see the slave castle in Cape Coast. That was a 4 hours drive from Tema, where the ship was. Looking out the window from the bus, I still could not believe I was in Africa! I never saw so many people, especially women holding heavy things over their heads. The city looked so chaotic, especially Accra, which is the capital. It is also so dirty. There is garbage and dirt everywhere. Still, I thought it was beautiful. Beautiful from anything I had seen in my entire life.

2 hours after, we had our first stop at a gas station to use the toilet. Wait, what toilet? Yeah, the bathroom is a floor! Is literally, a floor you squat and pee. I hope this is not sounding too dramatic and too descriptive, I do not want you guys to imagine me peeing on a floor in a gas station, but that seriously already blew my mind, because it was considered a legit bathroom. Well, after we all did our business on our first bathroom experience in Ghana, we headed to the castle.

We finally got there, and there were so many vendors outside trying to sell us things.
Rule number 2: The handshake — Ghanaians have a special handshake, that I wish I could describe it into words. It has a few steps into it and a little snap in the end, and ALL of them do it. It took me awhile to learn it, but right when I got off the bus I asked some of the vendors to teach me.

When we first got in the castle, my mood already changed. I mean, I was so excited to be there, but the environment is just so sad. The castle is beautiful, but I could feel its heavy history in the air.
I gotta say that I was shocked. It is not like I had no idea of what the slaves when through, I am from the 2nd place in the world, with the largest African population after Africa, which is the state of Bahia. i know what they went through, in fact, most of them were shipped over to my own city.

And that was the point — I saw with my own eyes, the other side of the story. I learned about how they got there, and what happened to them after they got in Brazil. But, at that moment, I was learning what happened to them before they even left.

I got into one of the cells they were kept in, and I seriously only stayed there for 5 minutes, and I felt like I could not breath. I felt sick to my stomach to even imagine someone living there. The tour guide was really passionate about it, which made my anxiety even worst.

We walked through the dungeons, and the more the tour talked, the more I wanted to cry. We first went through the male dungeons, and explained how so many slaves were kept there, and the floor we were stepping on, had a different texture because it was all of their poop that became fertilizers. “You see this dark, hard floor? It is different, because you guys are stepping on poop.” He said the same place where they slept, was the same place where they pooped, ate and did everything. By that time, I was already dizzy.

The women dudgeons were no different. The only difference was when he said how most of them would get rapped there, and used before they were shipped anywhere. From dizzy, I seriously just wanted to faint. Now more than ever, my colonizers disgust me. The Portuguese did that to them. I feel like anywhere I go, I always lead to the some conclusion, how absurd they treated all of these people in their own countries. How can I not disgust them?

Lastly, we saw the “exit of no return” which is the door, and the last thing they would see of their country before they got on the ship. There was a random man outside yelling, “This is all your fault! You made us go through this.”
That really shocked us, and we had no idea what to say and what to do. A lot of us cried, and just walked away.

I wish I could go back in the past, and change what it has been done; I know it is too late to change the history, but will it always be like this?

Ghana Dia I – Castelo dos Escravos

Eu voltei de Ghana a mais de três dias, e eu sinceramente ainda nao processei tudo que tem passado por minha mente.
Eu me prometi que esse blog seria o mais honesto possível, principalmente porque depois dessa viagem, eu quero poder olhar para trás, e me lembrar de como eu verdadeiramente me senti.

Eu definitivamente nao chamaria Ghana de “divertido” mas eu chamaria do cliché “uma experiência que mudou a minha vida.” O que eu vivenciei na minha primeira vez no continente da Africa, foi sinceramente um check para a realidade.

Eu vou quebrar minha viagem para Ghana em alguns posts, ja que eu tenho tanta coisa para falar desse lugar maravilhoso.

Acordei as 5am e fui para o lado de fora do navio para ver Ghana ha distancia. Eu vi o nascer do sol, e vi o porto se aproximando as poucos. Logo quando chegamos, ja tinham uma banda Africana tocando tambores, e pessoas dançando para nos.

Regra numero 1: Nao faca nada com a sua mao esquerda – Na cultura Ghanaian, sempre que voce for fazer qualquer coisa com suas maos para com outra pessoa, use somente a mao direita. A mao esquerda e “suja” e desrespeitosa. Foi um pouco complicado no inicio, para me lembrar qual mao iria dar tchau ou apertar a mao deles, pos nao queria insultar ninguém.

Entao, comi o cafe da manha, botei algumas coisas na minha mala, e ja estava pronta para ir. Um grupo de mais ou menos 33 de nos, entramos no onibus e saímos para a nossa primeira aventura na Africa, que seria ver os castelos dos escravos em Cape Coast. A viagem era de 4 horas de Tema, onde o navio estava parado. Olhando fora da janela do onibus, eu ainda nao podia acreditar que eu estava na Africa! nunca vi tanta gente, especialmente mulheres, com bacias pesadas na cabeça. A cidade me parecia muito caótica, especialmente Accra, que e a capital. O pais também me pareceu sujo. Tinha lixo e poeira para todos os lados. Mesmo assim, e linda. Uma beleza diferente de qualquer cidade que ja vi na minha vida.

2 horas depois, fizemos a nossa primeira parada no posto de gasolina para usar o toilet. Espera, que toilet? Pos e, o banheiro era um chão! Literalmente, um chão que voce se agacha e faz xixi. Espero que eu nao esteja sendo muito dramática ou descritiva, nao quero que ninguém fique me imagino agachada fazendo xixi no chao de um posto de gasolina, mas eu fiquei indignada como aquilo era realmente o banheiro deles. Bom, depois que nos fizemos o que tínhamos que fizer na nossa primeira experiência em um banheiro em Ghana, seguimos para o castelo.

Quando chegamos la, eu ja senti o meu humor mudar. Eu ainda estava muito ansiosa por estar ali, mas o ambiente era muito triste. O castelo e lindo, mas eu podia sentir a historia pesada no ar. Tenho que dizer que fiquei chocada. Nao e como se eu nunca soubesse como os escravos sofreram, eu venho do segundo lugar do mundo com o maior numero de Africanos depois da Africa, que e o estado da Bahia. Eu sei muito bem o que eles passaram, faz parte da minha historia. Em fato, a maioria deles foram levados para a minha propia cidade.

E o ponto e esso — Eu vi com os meus propios olhos o outro lado da historia. Eu aprendi como eles chegaram la, e o que aconteceu com eles depois que chegaram no Brasil. Mas, naquele momento, eu estava aprendendo o que acontecia com eles ate mesmo antes de eles serem mandados para fora.

Eu entrei em uma das celas em que eles ficavam, e eu sinceramente nao aguentei ficar la nem 5 minutos, porque ja nao conseguia respirar. Eu me senti doente, so de imaginar uma pessoa morando ali, em péssima condições. O guia turístico tinha muita paixão no que falava, o que fez a experiência mais difícil ainda.

Andamos pelas dungeons, e quanto mais o guia falava mais eu queria chorar. Primeiro fomos aonde os homens ficavam, e ele explicou como era a vida dos escravos naquele lugar. O chão em que estávamos pisando, tinha uma textura diferente porque ali era coco que ficou fertilizado . “Voce ta vendo esse chao escuro, e essa textura dura? E diferente porque isso era o coco que voces estão pisando.” Ele disse que o lugar era o mesmo em que eles faziam coco, dormiam, comiam e tudo mais. Eu ja estava tonta.

A situação das mulheres também nao era tao diferente. A única diferenca foi quando ele disse que muitas eram estupradas e usadas antes de entrarem no navio negreiro. De tonta, me deu vontade de desmaiar. Agora mais do que nunca, tenho nojo dos meus colonizadores. Os Portugueses fizeram isso com eles. Eu acho que nao importa a onde eu vá, eu sempre acabo com essa mesma conclusão, esse absurdo deles tratarem todas essas pessoas no propia pais delas. Como nao posso ter nojo?

Finalmente, vimos a “saída sem retorno” que e uma porta, e na verdade a ultima coisa que eles veem do seu pais antes de ir embora. Um rapaz do nada começou a gritar “Isso e tudo culpa sua! Voce fez que com nos passassemos por isso!”
As palavras dele chocou a todos nos, e nao tinhamos nem ideia do que falar ou fazer. Muitos de nos choramos, e fomos embora.

Eu queria poder voltar no passado, e mudar o que ja foi feito; eu sei que e tarde para mudar a historia, mas sera que sempre sera assim?

Categories: Ghana | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Ghana Day I – Slave Castles

  1. Rose Sampaio

    Minha doce Suse,
    Estou muito feliz de voce poder descobrir mais sobre a nossa verdadeira historia.
    Obrigada por essas palavras verdadeiras. A nossa historia nunca foi bonita, desde os negros e indios.
    A LIBERDADE de um ser nao tem preco e nunca tera.
    Estou aprendendo tanto com voce!
    Beijos, te amo.

  2. Edna Sampaio

    Suse minha linda.
    Que bom vc ter tido essa oprotunidade de aprender aqui no Brasil um pouco da cultura Africana e o sofrimento deles, e agora está ai vivendo este momento não muito agradavel que foi para eles muito sofrimento. Mas se sinta orgulhosa por essa oprtunidade que Deus está lhe proporcionando. Obrigado a vc por estes depoimentos,estou muito orgulhosa e feliz .
    Bjsssssssssssssss te amo muito Suse.

  3. Lindsey Tolentino

    I love your writing, Suse! Continue to write, it’s definitely one of your many gifts🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

