School in Ghana

i never thought it would be this hard to keep up with a blog, while going through so much motions. Ghana feels like so long ago, yet, the experiences I had carved within forever.

My third day in Ghana, was probably the hardest and the most amazing. As I read my journal of all the things I did and felt, it still does not seem to be real at all.

We woke up really early from the broken bed we were sleeping on and headed out. Breakfast was bread and a gravy, which I still do not know what was made of, but it tasted good with my hands.

We visited the elders of the village, which according to their culture, we had to ask for permission in order to do work in their community. As they were all sited in a line, looking like judges, we band over to shake their hands. The main elder asked “Why are you here?”

That sounds like an easy question, but it was seriously one of the hardest ones I ever had to answer. We were all quiet for a bit, and that is when it hit me. What am I really doing here? I wanted to say I am here to make a difference and that I am not just like the other ugly tourists. But am I? Am I even making any difference at all? I just seem like all of the others, who think they are bettering the world, but maybe I am just trying to better myself.

One of the older kids in the community asked, “Why do you want to come here? We want to visit you instead.” Well kid, good question. I wish you knew how messed up our heads are right now.

A young girl danced an African dance for us. I appreciate dancing so much, that it always feels like I am dancing next to her. It was so beautiful and strong, that in my eyes it was illustrating how strong they are as people.

After the elder ceremony, we walked a lot to another community to visit a school. The roads were dirty and it felt like the sun was melting on my head. Before I started complaining, I saw few women walking with their kids on their backs and a huge basket of water over their heads. Olivia, Frederick’s cousin, was guiding us through the village. She taught us a song called “Danase” which is a song they sing while they have to walk too much, so time can go by faster. The whole song talks about God watching over them. We learned the whole song, and soon as we knew it, we where there.

I did not know what to expect, as usual. it is typical me not to know what I am getting myself into, until is over. There I was, in a poor school in Ghana, with my backpack and my thoughts. I had no idea what I was going to do there, and what I was going to teach them. Some of them did not even speak English, and maybe they did not want me to teach anything. I was confused, and beating myself up inside for not knowing what to do, what to feel, or what to say. it is much easier to say “Oh yeah, I am heading there to help the community.” But when you are there, you actually want to make a difference, and do not know how.

If there is one thing that I learned on this trip, is that a smile is literally an universal language. I did not have to say anything, or do anything. My heart spoke louder, and I think theirs too.
We were the first foreigners to visit that school. Soon as we got there, the kids ran at us. They were smiling so much, and laughing so hard. They put us in a circle, and thought us how to dance. One little girl put my hand on my waist, and said “Move faster!” I laughed hysterically because that is usually my job in my Zumba class. She was laughing with me, although she had no clue why.

I did not realize how much I was laughing while i shook by booty in a circle with all those kids that were laughing at me. After the whole dancing, they got back to the classrooms. We split into groups, and visited classroom by classroom. I had some school supplies for them and some small gifts. We had the kids drawing stuff, writing some words in English, and all that fun teaching stuff you do not even realize the blast you are having.

The kids cope so good with us, and they seemed to be more than excited.
The school is not in perfect conditions, the sits were old, and even inside the classrooms was so hot. However, that did not keep them from trying to learn. They actually seemed to learn a lot and to know a lot. If they had more school supplies, and a better environment, I am sure it would make their learning process so much easier.

After dancing, singing, learning, teaching and hanging out together, it was time for us to leave.One of the teachers told me “Promise me you are going to come back.” They always seem to make me speechless every time. I left the school, once again, with tears in my eyes. I meet all these amazing kids, these interesting people, i do what I can to touch their lives just like they touched mine; but then I leave.

I was definitely not prepared. I could have brought so much more for them. The littlest things they need, is what makes the difference for them. I walked the whole way back, just thinking of when I come back, I am going to help so much more. Did I just say “when I come back?”
There is no way you can have such experience, and not want to come back for more. This time, it is not all about how you are feeling or what are you doing. Is about them, and how they feel, and what they need.

The smiles of the kids are now marked in my memory, and their eyes shinning with all the little gifts as well. I still feel like they are all holding my hand, as if I was some type of super hero. Now, i feel this huge responsibility to change their lives, because I always have the opportunity to change mine whenever I need. Life is just not fair.

Escola em Ghana

Eu nunca imaginei que seria dificil escrever um blog enquanto estou passando por tantas emocoes. Ghana parece que foi ha tanto tempo atras, e ao mesmo tempo esta marcada no meu dia-a-dia para sempre.

Meu terceiro dia em Ghana, foi provavelmente o mais dificil e o mais maravilhoso. Enquanto lia o meu jornal sobre tudo que senti e fiz, ainda e dificil de acreditar que tudo isso e real.

Acordamos de manha cedo na cama quebrada que dormimos e nos preparamos. Comemos pao com alguma coisa, que eu ainda nao sei o que era, so sei que estava gostoso com as minhas maos.

Visitamos os mais idosos da villa, que na cultura deles, precisamos pedir permissao para fazer qualquer trabalho na comunidade. Enquanto eles estavam sentados em uma fila parecendo juizes, nos abaixávamos e apertávamos suas maos. O maior idoso perguntou, “Porque voces estam aqui?”

Parece uma pergunta facil, mas foi sinceramente uma das perguntas mais dificeis que eu ja tive que responder. Todos nos silenciamos, e foi ai que eu me toquei. O que eu estou realmente fazendo aqui? Eu queria dizer que estava ali para fazer a diferenca, e que eu nao era que nem os outros turistas ridiculos. Mas eu sou mesmo?Estou verdadeiramente fazendo alguma diferenca? As vezes me parece que eu sou que nem o resto, que acha que esta fazendo a diferenca no mundo, mas talvez so estaja tentando fazer a diferenca em mim mesma.

Uma das criancas mais velhas da comunidade me perguntou, “Porque voce quer vim para ca? A gente quer visitar voces.”
Bom querido, boa pergunta. Se voce soubesse o quanto a nossas cabecas estam ferradas agora.

Uma jovem dancou uma danca Africana. Eu aprecio tanto dancas, que as vezes eu acho que estou dancando do lado deles. Foi tao lindo e forte, que nos meus olhos, parecia que ela estava ilustrando o quanto o seu povo e forte.

Depois da ceremonia dos mais idosos, andamos para outra comunidade. A estrada estava muito suja, e o sol paracia que etava derretendo sobre a minha cabeca. Antes que eu comecasse a reclamar, eu vi muitas mulheres segurando os seus filhos nas costas, e com bacias de agua na cabeca. Olivia, a prima de Frederick, estava nos guiando pela vila. Ela nos ensinou a musica “Danase”, que eles cantam quando estam andando muito, para fazer com que o tempo passe mais rapido. A musica fala sobre Deus guiando e cuidando deles. Aprendemos a musica, e quando menos esperavamos, chegamos la.

Eu nao sabia o que esperar, como sempre. E tipico eu nao saber aonde estou me metendo. Ali estava, em uma escola pobre de Ghana, com somente minha mochila nas costas e meus pensamentos. Nao tinha nem ideia do que eu ia fazer la, ou o que ia ensinar. Muitos deles nao sabem falar Ingles, e talvez eles nao queiram que eu os ensine nada. Esatava confusa, e estava me tormentando por dentro por nao sabe o que fazer, o que sentir ou o que falar. E muito mais facil dizer “Sim, estou indo ajudar a comunidade.” Mas quando voce esta verdadeiramente ali, vc quer realmente fazer uma diferenca, e nao sabe como.

Se eu aprendi alguma coisa dessa viagem, foi que um sorriso e literalmente a linguagem universal. Eu nao tive que falar nada, ou fazer nada. Meu coracao falou mais alto, e os deles tambem.
Eramos os primeiros estrangeiros a visitar essa escola. Logo quando chegamos, as criancas pularam na gente. Eles sorriam tanto, e davam muitas gargalhadas. Eles nos colocaram em uma roda, e nos ensinou a dancar. Uma menininha colocou a minha mao na minha cintura, e disse “Mexa mais!” Eu comecei a rir histericamente, porque geralmente esse e o meu trabalho na minha aula de Zumba. Ela tambem ria muito comigo, mas nao tinha nem ideia porque.

Eu nao me dei conta do quanto que eu ria, enquanto mexia o meu bumbum em uma roda com a criancada que ria de mim. Depois de todas as dancas, eles voltaram as suas classes. Nos dividimos em grupos, e visitamos cada sala de aula. Eu tinha materiais escolares para ele e algumas lembrancas. Nos fizemos eles desenhar, escrever palavras em Ingles, e todas aquelas coisas divertidas que voce nao sabe o quanto esta se divertindo enquanto ensina. Eles tambem cantaram e nos ensinaram muitas coisas da sua cultura.

As criancas foram maravilhosas com a gente, e eles pareciam estar se divertindo muito. A escola nao estava em condicoes perfeita, as cadeiras eram velhas, e dentro da sala de aula era muito quente. Mas, nada disso pararam eles a querer aprender. Parecia que eles sabiam muito, e aprediam muito. Se eles tivessem mais materiais escolares, e um ambiente melhor, tenho certeza que faria o seu processo de aprendizagem muito mais facil.

Depois de ter dancado, cantadao, aprendido e ensinado, foi hora de ir embora. Uma professora me falou, “Promete que voce vai voltar.” Eles paracem que sempre tem o poder para me deixar sem palavras. Eu fui embora, mas uma vez com lagrimas nos olhos. Eu conheco essas criancas maravilhosas, pessoas inacreditaveis, faco o que eu posso para tocar a vida deles que nem eles tocam a minha; mas dai eu vou embora.

Eu definitivamente nao estava preparada. Eu poderia ter trazido muito mais para eles. Sao as coisas menores que eles precisam que fazem a diferenca. Eu andei o caminho de volta inteiro pensando, quando voltar vou ajudar muito mais. Acabei de dizer “quando voltar?”
Nao exsite viver uma experiencia delas, e nao querer voltar. Dessa vez, nao e mais o que voce esta sentindo, ou o que esta fazendo. E tudo pensando neles, como eles se sentem, e o que eles precisam.

Os sorrisos da criancada ficaram marcados na minha memoria, e os seus olhares brilhando com as lembrancinhas tambem. Ainda sinto todos eles segurando a minha mao, como se eu fosse algum tipo de super homem. Agora sinto-me com uma grande responsabilidade de mudar a vida deles, porque eu tenho a oportunidade de mudar a minha sempre que preciso. A vida nao e justa.

Categories: Ghana | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “School in Ghana

  1. James Gonser

    I know it is hard, but thanks again for writing these blogs. I look forward to reading every one. Please don’t feel responsible for their lives. You are doing what you can and giving them each a great gift of you just being there. Now they can imagine the outside world and have something to strive for. And you will put all these experiences to good use in what you do with your life. And who knows, maybe you will return some day.

  2. Rose Sampaio

    Eu sei que essas experiencias nos fazem ser mais “humanos”, saimos
    da nossa pura fantasia e talvez mediocridade. Porem, nao se sinta totalmente responsavel
    pelo que voce esta vendo, aprendendo, deixe que todo esse aprendizado acomode dentro de voce,
    mais adiante voce fara suas escolhas, afinal e um dos motivos de voce fazer esse semestre
    visitando alguns paises, e para entender e diferenciar o ser humano como ser social em varios
    ambitos da historia. Continue seguindo!\Te amo

  3. I can’t say it any better then James did, Suse. Everything you are doing is making you into an even more amazing person who is going to make a big difference in the world. And isn’t it a huge eyeopener to discover wonderful people all over the planet!?! Makes you wonder how war and evil can continue to exist–but we’re working on that, right? Sending you much love! S.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

