Leaving Senase

Music fallows me everywhere, and I love it. Dancing is my passion and I think i express that enough every time I dance. We were able to have a Ghanaian dancer teaching us a dance, and performing it! After an afternoon of practicing and learning how to African dance and move with the drums, we were able to perform the next day in a school. I felt so alive! The kids looked so excited to see us, international students, embracing their culture and showing them how interested we were on learning something that is theirs. They did not judge how terribly we all probably danced, they actually motivated all of us. As I was leaving the school after the performance, one of the dance teachers hugged me and gave me his necklace as a gift to remember him. He told me I have potential and to keep dancing, I could have not felt more motivated. I also got a drum they made, with my name on it, so I can always remember the rhythm. We only worked together on a piece for few hours, and he marked my life forever.

Not just him, but everyone from that village. My last day in Ghana made me realize how much I loved that place. Although I was living a totally different reality of not showering regularly, not having running water or living without sanitation, the people and the kids just made everything worth it. I went there to teach them something, but I definitely learned much more. They taught me a lot about the world without even knowing how much they impacted my life. .

Saying good bye to the kids was probably the worst part of all. Suse, the little girl, hugged me and said “I love you, and I miss you so so much already.” I did not know what to do on that moment. I wanted to cry, but I did not wanted to do it on front of her. We hugged each other for awhile, as my thoughts kept running. It is a small world after all, when you have a big heart. We are so different, yet we are all the same. I did not have to know her for years, or even speak her language to miss her. Bennys told me she wanted to be a model before i left, and said she wanted to be pretty like me. She is probably one of the most beautiful people I know. She kept saying “Glod bless me.” I thought, “for what? God bless you, for letting me invade you reality and change mine.”

It has been few weeks, and months will go by, and even years. I do not know if I will ever see them again, but I know I will always carry a memory of my times in Ghana, and how alive they made me feel with such simplicity.

* Thank you everyone for you motivational comments. I appreciate the strength you guys have given me throughout this voyage. Although I cannot answer them, I read them all, and you guys have no idea how much it helps me, especially though sensitive times like this! I hope you are all enjoying it as much as I am!

Deixando Senase

Musica me segue aonde quer que eu va, e eu amo isso. Dancar sempre foi minha paixao, e eu acho que expresso isso sempre que danco. Nos tivemos a oportunidade de ter um dancarino Ghanaian nos ensinar uma danca! Depois de uma tarde inteira de treinos como aprender a dancar musica Africana e mexer com os tambores, no dia seguinte apresentamos em uma escola. Me senti tao viva! As criancas pareciam felizes em ver nos, estudantes internacionais, querendo abracar a cultura deles e mostrar o quanto somos interessados em aprender algo que e deles. Eles nao julgaram nossa danca que provavelmente saiu terrivel, mas sim nos motivaram. Enquanto saia do colegio depois da apresentacao, um dos professores me abracou e me deu o seu colar como um presente para eu lembrar dele. Ele me disse que eu tinha potencial e que era para eu continuar dancando. Nao poderia ter me sentido mais motivada. Eu tambem consegui um tambor com o meu nome encravado, para que eu nunca esqueca o ritimo da vila. So trabalhamos juntos por umas horas, e ele marcou a minha vida para sempre.

Nao so ele, mas todos da vila. Meu ultimo dia em Ghana me fez pensar o quanto eu amei aquele lugar. Mesmo eu vivendo uma realizade totalmente diferente, sem tomar banho regularmente, sem agua potavel ou sem sanitation, as pessoas e as criancas fizeram com que tudo valesse a pena. Eu fui la para ensinar algo a eles, mas definitivamente eu aprendi muito mais. Eles me ensinaram muito sobre o mundo, e criaram um impacto em minha vida sem nem saber.

Despedindo das criancas foi provavelmente a pior parte de todas. Suse, a menininha, me abracou e disse “Te amo, e eu sinto muita saudade.” Eu nao soube o que fazer naquele momento. Eu queria chorar, mas nao queria fazer isso na frente dela. Nos abracamos por um tempo, enquanto meus pensamentos corriam. E um mundo pequeno, quando se tem um coracao grande. Nos somos tao diferentes, mas na verdade somos iguais. Eu nao tive que conhecer ela por anos, e muito menos falar a lingua dela para sentir a sua fala.
Bennys me disse que queria ser uma modelo, linda que nem eu. Engracado que eu achei ela uma das pessoas mais lindas que conheci. Ela ficava me falando “Que Deus te abencoe.” Eu pensei, “Me abencoe de que? Deus abencoe voce, que me deixou invadir a sua realidade, e mudar a minha .”

Ja se passaram semanas, e vai passar meses, e ate anos. Nao sei se ainda as verei novamente, mas sei que eu sempre vou levar na minha memoria os meus tempos em Ghana, e como eles me fizeram sentir viva com tanta simplicidade.

Categories: Ghana | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Leaving Senase

  1. Rose Sampaio

    Congratulations my love for the wonderful job with kids!
    I think you learned a lot from them!
    I love you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

