The Wild Kruger

I have been so behind on my posts, life is just passing by way too fast and time is ticking.

On the third day in South Africa, me and 30 more students gathered together at 3am, to head to the airport to our safari! A REAL safari, not the Indiana Jones ride in Disneyland.

We first caught a shuttle to the airport, got some breakfast there and headed to the city of Johannesburg, which is also another capital of South Africa. The flight was about 2 hours. Viva Safari, the company we were doing OUR safari through, was waiting with vans outside the airport to get is to the wild. The trip there was around 6 hours! We passed by some pretty nice views, especially the view of the second highest waterfall in the world.

We stopped to grab some lunch at a delicious restaurant, where unfortunately I just grabbed burger (college student’s life).

We finally arrived in Kruger! The first thing we did, was get on those cool safari cars, and see the sunset in the wild. I cannot emphasize enough how beautiful it was. I feel like is cliche already the beauty I see, but it was sincerely beautiful; and of course, I totally different beauty.

I was looking straight to the same sun I saw in the Lion King – no joke! Thanks Disney, for the amazing childhood I still remember.

We saw some giraffes that night, and other tiny animals I cannot recall the names. After the sunset, we headed back to the lodge. We were sleeping in tree houses. I know, how legit to sleep in a tree house, in Kruger!

Before going to bed, we had one of the most delicious plates ever! I had bean soup, rice, beans and chicken. It reminded me so much of the food of my state Bahia. Now I know our true roots. I couldn’t be happier.

We went to bed, it was 4 of us in a treehouse. Everything felt so amazing, until we all started to notice all the spiders. I have never seen so many spiders in my life! I am not going to lie I was afraid while taking a shower or sleeping one of them would just crawl on me.

We woke up around 7am, got breakfast and left to our original safari in Kruger park.

I swear, Disney made the wild look exactly how it was in the Lion King. Besides the sun, the trees, the animals, the environment was just exactly the same. The only thing I thought they did not emphasize right, were the spiders, again. I thought it was only in my treehouse, but it was seriously all over the places. Their nets were disgustingly huge!

I saw many animals as giraffes, zebras, hypos, rhinos, but the one I enjoyed the most was the elephant. I got to see one taking a shower and playing with the water. Most of the time I saw an elephant, it was with its family, which I thought it was cute.

I learned that any animal in general in the wild, if it is hanging out by itself, it’s a male. Female animals are not accustomed to walk around alone, they are always surrounding each other and in groups. I do not like that very much, because it makes me think of society and how women are treated. I know, I know, that is just the way animals are, but still.

The saddest part of my day in the Kruger was not seeing a lion, or any cats. First, we were literally in the wild, so there was a chance we weren’t going to see anything at all. Second of all, the time we went, our safari guide explained that most of the lions are sitting down and laying, because this is the time they just went haunting, and now are full. It would be almost impossible to find them through all the trees. Lazy lions.

We spent all day feeling like Indiana Jones, until it got dark. We got back to the lodge, had amazing food again (including BBQ African style!), hung around, and went to sleep with our friendly spiders hanging on the ceiling. We were leaving the next day really early.

We woke up around 6:30am, and went on a “bush” walk, to understand about the plants, what are they used for and all that. After, we had to say good bye like we always do, back to the airport and back to Cape Town.

We stopped to grab lunch again, and also to see some views. Every time I say I have not seeing anything more beautiful, I see it.

My days in the wild were so much fun. I felt so free with so little. I believe this trip is coming down to this fact — the less I have materially at the moment, I gain more spirituality and nature, which makes me feel more complete!

A selva em Kruger

Eu ando tao atrasada nos meus posts, a vida esta passando muito rapido e o tempo tambem.

No meu terceiro dia na Africa do Sul, eu e mais 30 alunos nos juntamos as 3am, e fomos para o aeroporto para fazermos um safari. Um safari de VERDADE, nao aqueles de Indiana Jones na Disneylandia.

Primeiro nos pegamos um shuttle para o aeroporto, tomamos cafe da manha e partimos para a cidade de Johannesburg, que tambem e uma das capitais da Africa do Sul. O voo foi aproximadamente umas 2 horas. Viva Safari, a empresa que nos negociamos o safari, estava nos esperando fora do aeroporto para finalmente nos levar a selva. A viagem de carro foram mais umas 6 horas! Passamos por muitas vistas lindas, especialmente a vida da segunda cachoeira mais alta do mundo.

Paramos para comer em um restaurante delicisoso, mas infelizmente eu so comi um hamburguer (vida de um estudante).

Depois de uma viagem longa, finalmente chegamos em Kruger! A primeira coisa que fizemos foi entrar em um daqueles carros bem legal de safari, e ver o por do sol no meio da selva. Nao tenho como explicar a beleza! Ja esta virando cliche eu dizer a tal beleza que eu sempre vejo, mas era sinceramente lindo; e claro, uma beleza totalmente diferente, novamente.

Eu estava olhando diretamente para o mesmo sol do Rei Leao- sem brincadeira! Obrigada Disney, por uma infancia maravilhosa que eu ainda me lembro.

Vimos girafas e outros animais menores que nao lembro o nome. Depois do por do sol, voltamos para o acampamento. Iamos dormir em casas na arvore. Eu sei que legitimo poder dormir em uma casa na arvore, em Kruger!

Antes de dormir, comemos uns pratos deliciosos! Era sopa de feijao, com arroz, feijao, e frango. O tempero me lembrou muito a comida do meu estado da Bahia. Agora sei de verdade que realmente sao dai as nossas raizes. Nao poderia ter ficado mais feliz depois de ter enchido a pansa.

Fomos dormir, eramos 4 em uma casa. Tudo estava lindo, ate quando eu olhei pro teto e comecei a ver as aranhas. Nunca vi tantas aranhas na minha vida! Nao vou mentir que enquanto tomava banho e quando fui dormir fiquei com medo que uma dessas subisse em mim.

Levantamos umas 7am, tomamos cafe, e fomos logo para o nosso safari original no Parque de Kruger. Eu juro, Disney fez a imagem da selva igualzinha que nem o Rei Leao. Alem do sol que eu comentei, as arvores, os animais, o ambiente, tudo era exatamente igual. A unica coisa que eles nao fizeram um trabalho muito bom, foi dizer a quantidade de aranhas, novamente. Eu pensei que so tinha na minha casa na arvore, mas elas estavam por todas as partes. As teias empenduradas nas arvores eram nojentas e imensas.

Eu vi mais animais alem de girafa, vi zebras, hipopotamos, rhinos, mas o que eu mais gostei foram os elefantes. Eu vi um tomando banho e brincando com a agua. E quase sempre que eu via, eles sempre estavam com suas familias, o que eu achei muito fofo.

Aprendi que na selva, se o animal esta sozinho, ele e geralmente um macho. As femeas nao sao acostumadas a andar sozinha, sempre estam uma perto da outra ou andando em grupos. Nao gostei muito disso, porque me fez pensar um pouco como ate na sociedade com os humanos funciona assim. Eu sei, eu sei, os animais sao assim e pronto, mas que me fez pensar, fez.

A parte mais triste do meu dia em Kruger foi o fato de eu nao ter visto um leao e nenhum gato. Primeiramente, estavamos literalmente na selva, entao corriamos o risco de nao ver nenhum animal. E segundo, o tempo em que fomos, explicou nosso guia do safari, que a maioria dos leaos estam deitados ou sentados, pos acabou de passar o tempo que eles foram cacar, e agora estavam fartos. Seria muito dificil de ver-los deitados entre tantas arvores. Leos preguicosos,

Passamos o dia inteiro nos sentindo como Indiana Jones, ate que escureceu. Voltamos para o acampamento, comemos novamente maravilhosamente bem (com direito a churrasco estilo Africano!), comemoramos, e fomos dormir com nossas amigas aranhas. Iamos embora no dia seguinte bem cedo.

Acordamos por volta das 6:30am, fomos para uma “caminhada de plantas” para entender mais sobre as arvores, plantas e para que elas sao e essas coisas de sobrevivencia. Depois, dissemos adeus, como sempre, e voltamos para o aeroporto e Cape Town.

Paramos para almocar novamente, e para ver mais vistas. Toda vez que eu digo que nunca vi nada tao lindo, eu vejo.

Meus dias na selva foram muito divertidos. Me senti livre, com tao pouco. Eu creio que essa viagem esta chegando a esse fato– quanto menos eu tenho materialmente no momento, eu ganho mais espiritualidade e natureza, o que me faz me sentir mais completa.

Categories: South Africa | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Wild Kruger

  1. Rose Sampaio

    Eu leio os seus posts e fico pensando o quanto e maravilhoso conhecer, explorar,
    e aprender toda essa cultura diversificada nos paises que voce tem ido.
    Estou aprendendo muito com voce sabia?
    Te amo meu amor!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

