See you soon, South Africa

Definitely saying good bye is always the hardest part of every single country.
I’m in love with South Africa! I seriously can see myself spending some time here. Despite its beauty, there is just so much life!

Like every country there are a lot of problems.
Out of 5 people, 4 has HIV/AIDS. It is really sad, especially because even its president does not see it as a problem.
The president Zumu, was accused of raping a young woman who was a carrier of the HIV virus. After he was confronted about it, he said in other words, “Well, I took a shower and washed it off after.”

Obviously he has no clue about the subject; which does not make him very helpful in order to take charge and help its citizens that are dying every day because of it.

The number of disemployment in South Africa is the highest in the WORLD. 50% of the population are unemployed. Sadly, they are mainly blacks

South Africa’s number of crime is high, and it could be dangerous, especially at the townships, which are the like “guettos” or the favelas in Brazil.

The contrast between the white and the black is immense. Although both colors mix in the everyday life, you can clearly see the difference. Especially in the townships, where the whole population is basically black.

South Africa needs to go through many changes, in order to better itself as a country. However, despite all of these problems, it’s just unique. The places and the people, they are just so rich of culture.

My last day, I basically walked around in the waterfront, had an amazing lunch at a sushi bar in front of the water, and got a dread. A REAL DREAD LOCK! I really had to embrace it all.
Being the spontaneous person that I am, I just decided on the spot I really wanted it, when I saw a little shop of dreads and braids in the middle of the market. I also sat for almost 2 hours just watching street performers give the people a show for free. They were so talented and full of energy. Some danced, some sang and others played instrument.

I still can’t say a main reason why this country is so special. It just is, and only going there, and experiencing would be the way to know this.

This is another country that I will definitely going back. I gained so many memories in this place, that gathered me closer to my friends on the ship and closer to myself.

I am missing the African soil already, but my adventure needs to keeping moving; For now, see you soon.

Ate mais, Africa do Sul.

Meu ultimo dia na Africa do Sul! Despedida como sempre e a pior parte nesses paises.
Estou apaixonada pela Africa do Sul! Eu facilmente consigo me ver passando uns tempos aqui. Tem toda a sua beleza, esse lugar e cheio de vida!

Como todos os paises, tem muitos problemas tambem.
De 5 pessoas, 4 tem HIV/AIDS. E triste, principalmente porque nem mesmo o presidente entende a gravidade desse problema.
O presidente Zumu, foi acusado de ter estuprado uma moca que carrega o virus do HIV. Depois que o confrontaram sobre o assunto, ele disse em outras palavras, “Bem, eu tomei banho depois e lavei.”

Obviamente ele nao tem nem ideia sobre o assunto; o que nao o faz muito helpful para tomar uma decisao e ajudar os seus cidadaos que morrem todos os dias.

O numero de desemprego da Africa do Sul e o maior do MUNDO. 50% da populacao e desempregada. Tristemente, a maioria sao negros

O numero de crimes tambem e grande, e mais perigoso nos townships, que sao como os “guettos” e as favelas do Brazil.

O contraste entre os brancos e negros e imenso. Apesar dos dois grupos se misturarem no seu dia-a-dia, da para claramente ver a diferenca. Especialmente nesses townships, onde a populacao e negra.

A Africa do Sul precisa passar por muitas mudancas, para se melhorar como uma nacao. Mas alem desses problemas, e um lugar unico. Os lugares e as pessoas, sao tao ricos de cultura.

Meu ultimo dia, eu basicamente andei pela waterfront, tive um almoco maravilhoso em um restaurante de sushi na frente da agua, e fiz um dread. UM DREAD DE VERDADE. Eu tive que abracar a cultura toda pela frente.
Sendo a pessoa espontânea que sou, eu decidi na hora fazer, quando eu vi um shop pequeno de dreads e trancas Africanas no meio do market. Eu tambem sentei por quase duas horas, so para assistir as performances na rua, os shows que eles nos deram de graca. Eles eram muito talentosos e tinham muita energia. Alguns dancaram, outros cantaram e outros tocaram instrumentos.

Ainda nao sei explicar a maior razao porque esse pais e tao especil. Ele somente e, e para saber, so tendo a experiencia e indo conhecer.

Esse e outro pais que eu com certeza voltarei. Eu fiz tantas memorias nesse lugar, que me aproximou muito dos meus amigos do navio, e me aproximou ainda mais de mim mesma.

Eu ja estou sentindo falta do terreno Africano, mas a minha aventura precisa continuar; por agora, ate mais.

Categories: South Africa | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “See you soon, South Africa

  1. Edna Sampaio

    Suse minha linda!! Estou muito feliz por essa experiência que vc está vivendo,curta bastante e adquira muito conhecimento profissional e espiritual tb.
    Te amo muito
    Edna Sampaio

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

