India – just getting started

I believe I mentioned in one of my first posts, when I was little I thought India would be like “The Little Princess” movie, full of magic, princes and princesses. Well, soon as I grew up, I figured things aren’t ike that anywhere in the world.
However, India IS full of magic; full of its own magic, where everything seems to work in their own unique way.

If there is a place I learned most about myself, it was in India. I got out of my comfortable zone (if there is such thing in this voyage), and threw myself out there.

My first day in India, was that shocking experience of getting off the ship, crossing the immigration gate, and — boom. From outside the gate, there is the real world, and we need the courage to cross it. I know it sounds dramatic, but it seriously feels this way. We are here, in our air conditioned rooms, seeing all the beauty from the highest deck, thinking how the world is beautiful. Out there is the real deal, and we need an open mind to except it and to learn from it.

I got off the ship with my two besties, and got on a “toto”, those funny looking taxis that look more like a moped. I do not understand how traffic works in India. I had my heart in my hand the whole time. i got used the sound of the non stop honking, and the way the cars seemed to make their way through one another without even stopping.

I would describe the streets of India as an “organized chaos.” it seriously is. There is people everywhere, and cars all over the place. But for some reason, it all just seems to work.
The people..oh the people..don’t even get me started. They are so beautiful. It is so exotic. I feel in love with the women’s sari — their beautiful clothing — and all the scarfs full of colors. I noticed women did not smile as much as men did, though.

Me, Daniela and Gabriel stopped at some shops on the middle of street, than we went to the Backwaters, where we got on a small little boat and went around the waters surrounding the city. I saw some kids playing around in the water, and people fishing. Those waters are more than just a touristic area; it is acuatelly a living for many people.

We also ATE. Oh my, we ate so much. They warned us to take some Pepto before eating our meals and all because of all the spice. It was so spicy! Did i mention they eat with their hands? I already make a mess with forks and knives, and looked like a 1 year old eating with my hands. The food seemed to taste better that way, though.
We went to a very local restaurant, and looked at the menu. We did not understand a word, but order whatever looked good. Our taxi driver Munna, helped us pick. I wish I could describe everything that I ate, but I seriously do not even know.

Munna named us Indian names- Mine was Seema, Dani’s was Roshimin, and Gabriel’s Ramael.

We tried to explore all over Kochi city, and than headed back to the ship. It was also SO HOT. I thought I would be used to it, but there is no way I would be used to Indian’s heat.

When I went to bed, I thought ,”my adventure is just beginning.” and it did.

*Nice things to do in Kochi, India on first day😉
– eat eat eat and eat again — by the way, cow is sacred to them, so they do not eat it! – shop for some beautiful clothing
– get a message — Indian style!
– don’t ride elephants — we really wanted to, and looked for some places, but heard they are all mistreated in places you can ride them. – backwaters
– talk to everyone — some people speak English, some do not. At least try, they are so nice. India has over 28 national languages. The most common one is Hindi, usually spoken in the North. Every state in India is like a whole new country! – walk around!

India – Apenas comecando

Eu creio que em um dos meus posts passados, eu disse que quando eu era pequena eu pensei que India seria que nem o filme “A Princesinha.”, cheio de magica, principes e princesas.
Mas, logo quando cresci percebi que as coisas nao sao bem assim em nenhuma parte do mundo.
Mesmo assim, India e cheia de magica; uma magica somente sua, onde as coisas funcionan do seu jeito unico.

Se tem um lugar que eu mais aprendi sobre eu mesma, foi na India. Eu sai da minha area confortavel (se e que existe uma nesse navio), e me joguei la gora.

Meu primeiro dia na India, foi aquela experiencia chocante de sair do navio, passar pelo portao da imigracao, e — boom. De fora dos portoes, ali esta o mundo real, e temos que ter coragem para atravessar. Eu sei que parece meio dramatico, mas sinceretamente, e exatamente assim que se sente. Estamos aqui nos nossos quartos com ar condicionado, vendo toda a beleza do topo do navio, imaginando o quanto o mundo e lindo. La fora sim, o caso e serio, e temos que ter a mente aberta para aceitar e aprender.

Sai do navio com meus melhores, e subimos em um “toto”, aqueles taxis engracados que mais me parece uma lambreta. Eu nao entendo como o trafego funciona na India. Eu estava com o meu coracao nas maos o tempo todo. Me acostumei com o barulho da buzina que nao parava, e com os carros que pareciam atravessar o outro sem parar.

Eu descreveria as ruas da India como um “chaos organizado”. Sinceramente, e um. Tem gente para tudo que e canto, e carros tambem. Mas por alguma razao, tudo parece que funciona. As pessoas…ah, as pessoas…nem sei por onde comecar. Elas sao tao lindas, sao exoticas. Eu me apaixonei pelos saris das mulheres- as roupas lindas– e todos os cachecois cheio de cores. Mas percebi que as mulheres nao riam tanto quanto os homens.

Eu, Daniela e Gabriel paramos em alguns shops no meio da rua, e depois fomos para o Backwaters (aguas de traz), onde nos pegamos um pequeno barquinho e navegamos ao redor da cidade por traz. Vi criancas brincando, e outras pessoas pescando. E mais que um lugar turistico, e sim um estilo de vida que as pessoas tem naquelas aguas.

Nos tambem COMEMOS, nos comemos muito. O navio disse que era melhor tomarmos Pepto (remedio para estomago) antes de comer as comidas, por culpa da pimenta. Era tudo muito apimentado! Eu ja disse que eles comem com as maos? Eu ja faco uma bagunca com garfo e faca, eu parecia uma crianca de um ano comendo com as minhas maos. Mas parece que a comida fica mais gostosa assim.
Fomos para um restaurante bem local, e olhamos para o menu, que por acaso, nao entendiamos nada. Pedimos qualquer coisa que parecia gostoso. Munna, o nosso taxista que virou nosso amigo, nos ajudou a escolher. Eu queria poder descrever tudo que comi, mas eu sinceramente nem sei o que foi.

Munna inventou nomes Indianos para nos — O meu era Seema, o de Dani era Roshimin, e o de Gabriel Ramael.

Tentamos explorar a cidade de Kochi toda, e depois cansados voltamos para o navio. Estava MUITO QUENTE. Eu pensei que ja era acostumada, mas nao tem como se acostumar com o calor da India.

Quando fui dormir, pensei “minha aventura esta apenas comecando aqui.” e comecou.

* Coisas para fazer no primeiro dia em Kochi, India😉
– comer comer comer e comer — ah, vaca e sagrada para eles, eles nao as come! – comprar roupas lindas Indianas — algumas sao bem baratas! – massagem – estilo Indiana!
– nao suba em elefantes– nos queriamos muito, e procuramos lugares, mas depois ficamos sabendo que eles sao muito maltratados em lugares para montar. – Aguas de traz
– Converse com todo mundo — algumas pessoas falam Ingles, e outras nao. Pelo menos tente, eles sao gente boa. A India tem mais de 28 linguas nacionais. A mais comum e Hindi, que e mais falada no Norte. Cada estado na India e como se fosse outro pais! – ande!

Categories: India | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “India – just getting started

  1. Rose Sampaio

    Sabe que eu consigo me sentir um pouco Indiana?
    Eu sei que o contraste da pobreza e grande , porem a Espiritualidade
    e imensa!
    Bjs!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

