Getting ready for Chennai

When I safely arrived at Ambicka’s house, her brother opened the door for me. Ambicka was grabbing some food with Brittany, a Semester at Sea student that came with her.
Her brother spoke amazing English, and he was really nice to me. We talked for hours waiting for Ambicka to get home. I was so curious, so I just kept shooting him with questions.
He graduated school in India, and his major was also communications, so we talked a lot about the newspaper that I visited and about communications in India.

We sat at the dinner table while he fed me some amazing Indian home made food (cannot remember the name), and talked about politics, rights, drugs, religion, issues and etc.

Some interesting talks we had, which i think i should point out, was about gay rights. I learned that although gay marriage is not acceptable in India, little by little the population is accepting it. He said that couples just should not put it out there to the public. Public display of affection in general is prohibited, like kissing and hugging, only holding hands is acceptable, or else you might even get fined. It is normal for a men to walk around holding another men’s hand, but that does not mean they are gay; they are just friends. I saw a couple of them holding hands, and I thought it was very interesting, because how we are raised, it is not very common for a men to hold another men when they are just friends.
Weed was also another topic we talked about. He said it is also prohibited, however, it is very common, just like in the United States. Some people use it as a way of meditation. I asked him how the government approaches it, and he said big cities like Chennai for example, the most that it could happen, is them taking it away. Something else that surprised me, because Indians are overall so conservative.
We also talked about the whole Muslim and Hindu religion, (they are Hindu), and explained a little about how they meditate and things like that. They had some religious sculptures in the house, especially some photos of Shiva, I noticed.
He also told me to keep in mind how India is so huge, and each state is just like another country, even the language is different.

I was able to clearly see the cast system, and the social difference. Ambicka’s family was obviously high class and they all spoke amazing English, and went to decent schools (Ambicka for example, studies on the best school for girls in the city). The ladies that worked there, or the driver, spoke no English. Now, I started to understand.

Ambicka got home, and we talked for many more hours, until I fell asleep. I was so tired from my adventure.
They were both so welcoming, and I could not wait to meet their family the next day.

Quando eu cheguei segura na casa de Ambicka, o seu irmao abriu a porta para mim. Ambicka estava comendo com Brittany, outra estudante do Semestre no Mar que veio com ela.
O irmao dela falava Ingles perfeitamente, e foi muito gentil comigo. Conversamos por muitas horas esperando Ambicka chegar em casa. Estava muito curiosa, e terminei atirando mil perguntas.
Ele se formou em uma faculdade da India, e tambem estudou comunicacao, entao conversamos muito sobre o jornal que eu visitei e sobre a comunicacao geral na India.

Sentamos na mesa enquanto ele me dava uma comida caseira Indiana (nao lemnbro o nome), e conversamos sobre politica, direito, drogas, religiao, problemas e etc.

Uns assuntos interessantes que conversamos, que eu devo comentar, foi sobre os direitos gays. Eu aprendi que mesmo o casamento gay nao sendo aceito, pouco a pouco a populacao esta aceitando. Ele disse que o casal so nao deve se expor muito, ate porque expressao de afeto em geral e proibido, como beijos e abracos. Segurar na mao e aceito, mais que isso voce pode ser ate multado. E normal um homem segurar nas maos de outro homem, e nao quer dizer que eles sao gay, somente amigos. Eu vi um casal de amigos de maos dadas, e achei interessante, porque onde somos criados, nao e comum amigos darem as maos.
Maconha tambem foi outro topico que conversamos. Ele disse que e proibido, mas, e muito comum, que nem nos Estados Unidos. Algumas pessoas usam para uma maneira de meditar. Eu o perguntei como o governo lida com isso, e ele me disse que em cidades grandes como Chennai, geralmente se voce e pego, eles so tomam de voce. Isso foi algo que tambem me surpreendeu, pos acho a cultura Indiana conservadora.
Nos tambem conversamos sobre a religiao muçulmana e Hindu, (Eles sao Hindu), e explicaram um pouco sobre como eles meditam e coisas do tipo. Sua casa tinha esculturas e imagens religiosas, especialmente de Shiva.
Ele pediu para que eu me lembrasse que India e imensa, e cada estado e como se fosse outro pais, ja que ate a lingua e diferente.

Eu vi claramente a diferenca da classe social. Ambicka e sua familia obviamente era de classe media alta e eles falam o Ingles perfeitamente, e estudaram em faculdades decentes (Ambicka por exemplo estuda na melhor faculdade de mulheres da cidade). As mulheres que trabalham na casa dela, ou o motorista, nao falavam Ingles. Dai foi que eu comecei a entender.

Ambicka chegou em casa, e conversamos por mais horas e horas ate quando eu dormi. Estava exausta da minha aventura.
Eles tem sido muito generosos em terem aberto a sua casa para mim, e eu nao via a hora de conhecer a sua familia.

Categories: India | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Getting ready for Chennai

  1. Rose Sampaio

    E muito prazeroso conhecer pessoas que contribuem para o nosso crescimento.
    Com certeza mais adiante voce podera retribuir a todos que estao ajudando
    voce em sua caminhada de estudante e pessoa humana.

    Boa Sorte sempre!
    Good Luck my love!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

