Kids in India

I woke up in the morning a little confused of where I was. I constantly find myself waking up and not realizing where I am, this feeling already feels like home.

Ambicka was so nice to give her room and bed to us, which I slept so good.
We woke up really early, and met up with some other Semester at Sea students that happened to be also in Chennai. They were there for a field trip, which I just ended up joining for the day to do some service.

We went to a couple of temples, which blew my mind. I am a very spiritual person, and being in India, just brought that whole concept of finding your own inner peace much more alive. I felt so blessed being around those temples. Some of them were near the beach, where a lot of other temples were built and got washed away from the tsunamis. Those that were still there, did not just look like history, but more like hope. They were still there, despite all of the natural and human disasters.

After the temple visits, we left to a village an hour away from the city, to visit a school and spend the day there with the kids. Once again, I went there thinking I was going to do some community service, and teach them something. I learned so much more than what I taught.
The school was not in terrible conditions, but it wasn’t amazing either. It was out of electricity when we got there. The principle told us that happens very often.

For the first half of the day, I hung out with the little kids. I felt in love with them, and their enthusiasm to learn and grow. It enlightens my world to see those beautiful bright eyes those kids carry, despite their lives circumstances. I definitely had a flashback of my kids in Ghana, which I think of all the time.

The little Indian kids sounded so happy. They were yelling, laughing, singing and dancing. None of them really spoke English, but why do we need English anyway? We just knew how to communicate with our smiles. Everybody thought I was India, so they treated me even more like a local.

They had a lot of toys, and the classrooms were clean. The teachers also looked like they were ready to teach. It made my heart smile to see that they are not in wonderful conditions, but enough to get their learning.

After playing with the kids, we went to the older kids classrooms. They have yoga everyday! The kids are required to take a yoga class! I swear they should do that all over the world. I was able to watch their class, and I gotta say that I was jealous. I wish I started to do yoga much earlier in life they have.

We sat at one classroom, and had the kids ask us questions. They were all learning English in school, which made our communication much easier. They asked us what we thought about India, what were we studying in college and things like that.
We also asked them a bunch of questions, including what you want to be when you grow up. There was not a single student in that room that did not want to be something; they all had big dreams! A lot of engineers, nurses, scientists and even political candidates.
They sang their Indian flag anthem, and even danced with me! Of course, we danced Zumba! The girls also showed me a typical dance.

Like always, saying good-bye is the hardest part; however, I left the school thinking the world could be a much better place with minds like those kids. I gave them some advises to stick to school, and go to college, but I felt like they already knew that.

I really hope in the future they make it big. Most of us have amazing school conditions and don’t even take advantage of it. These kids with medium conditions definitely deserve to be successful and given an opportunity to chose their future.

Criancas na India

Acordei pela manha um pouco confusa me perguntando aonde estava. Sinto que constantemente tenho acordado sem me dar conta de onde estou, esse sentimento ja e de casa.

Ambicka foi otima em ter nos dado seu quarto e sua cama, em que dormi tao bem.
Acordamos cedo, e nos encontramos com uns estudantes do Semestre do Mar que tambem acabaram em Chennai. Eles tinham um excursao, em que eu acabei fazendo parte em um trabalho voluntario tambem.

Fomos para alguns templos primeiro, que fiquei maravilhada. Eu sou uma pessoa muito espiritualista, e estando na India, fez com que meu conceito de encontrar paz espiritual mais vivo. Me senti tao abencoada em estar nos templos. Muitos eram perto da praia, onde muitos outros templos foram construidos, e depois levados pela agua por tsunamis. Os que restaram nao pareciam somente como historia, mas mutio mais como esperanca; ainda estavam ali, por cima de todos desastres humanos e naturais.

Depois que visitamos os templos, fomos para uma villa uma hora da cidade, para conhecer uma escola e passar o dia com as criancas. Mais uma vez, ali estava, achando que ia fazer um trabalho voluntario e ensinar algo para eles. Eu aprendi muito mais de que ensinei.
A escola nao estava em condicoes terriveis, mais tambem nao estava maravilhosa. Em fato, tinha faltado energia logo quando chegamos la. A direto falou que isso acontece sempre.

Na primeira metade do dia, brincamos com as criancinhas. Eu me apaixonei por eles, e com seu entusiasmo de aprender e crescer. Ilumina o meu mundo ver os olhos brilhantes que essas criancas carregam, apesar de toda circumstancia de vida que eles vivem. Eu definitivamente tive um flashback das minhas criancas em Ghana, que eu penso toda hora.

As criancas pareciam tao felizes. Estavam gritando, rindo, cantando e dancando. Nenhum deles falava Ingles, mas quem precisa de Ingles? Nos sabiamos como nos conunicar com nossos propios sorrisos. Todos acharam que eu era Indiana, entao me trataram ainda mais como um local.

Tinha muitos brinquedos, e as salas pareciam limpas. As professoras tambem pareciam que estavam preparadas para ensinar. Meu coracao sorriu em ver que apesar de eles nao estarem em condicoes maravilhosas, e suficiente para ensinar e aprender.

Depois de ter brincado com as criancas, fomos para a sala dos adolescentes. Eles tem yoga todos os dias! E obrigatorio para as criancas todos os dias terem aula de yoga! Eu juro que eles tinham que fazer isso no mundo inteiro. Eu tive a oportunidade de assistir uma aula, e preciso dizer que fiquei com inveja. Queria eu ter comecado a fazer yoga muito mais cedo na minha vida como eles.

Sentamos em uma das salas, e eles nos fizeram perguntas. Eles estam aprendendo Ingles, que fez a comunicacao mais facil. Nos perguntaram o que achavamos da India, o que estavamos estudando na faculdade, e coisas do tipo.
Tambem perguntamos varias perguntas, incluindo o que voce quer ser quando crescer. Nao teve um aluno sequer naquela sala que nao queria ser algo; todos eles tinham sonhos grandes! Muitos engenheiros, enfermeiras, cientistas, e ate politicos.
Eles cantaram o hino da bandeira Indiana, e dancaram para mim! Claro, dancamos Zumba! As meninas tambem me ensinaram uma danca tipica.

Como sempre, dizer adeus e sempre a parte mais dificil; mesmo assim, sai da escola pensando que o mundo pode ser um lugar bem melhor com criancas que nem essas que acabei de conhecer. Eu as dei concelhos para continuar no colegio, e lutar para ir a faculdade, mas eu senti que eles ja sabiam disso.

Eu espero que no futuro eles alcancem alto. Muitos de nos vamos para colegios em condicoes maravilhosas e nao aproveitamos. Essas criancas com condicoes medianas definitivamente merecem muito sucesso, e uma oportunidade para escolher o seu futuro.

Categories: India | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Kids in India

  1. James Gonser

    It’s good you have the chance to compare schools. It makes India sound like second world rather that third world. I wonder if they had computers.

  2. Edna Sampaio

    Suse vc foi uma pessoa abençoada por Deus para passar por essa linda experiência de vida.Quando vc voltar vai ver quanto vc cresceu e amadureceu,temos tudo na nossa vida e no nosso país e não damos valor .Esse momento que Deus te proporcionou foi muito mágico, que vc aproveite bastante mas se cuida.Muita paz,luz espiritual e fica com Deus.
    Bjssssssssssss te amamos muito.Sua Dinda Edna Sampaio

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

