“Same Same, but different” Vietnam

From now on, I knew time was simply going to fly. We had 3 different ports ahead of us after Singapore, with only two days in between them to get there. We still had classes those days, with things to study and write (I know, I rarely talk about the school part, but it takes a lot of energy as well).

I was fine with the African countries, and I thought I did pretty good in India, especially by looking Indian. I basically felt I could fit in all these places I visited. Asia, however, is a different story. I had no idea how it would be. Obviously, I would not look like any local person, and the language barrier would be the most challenging.

Vietnam- there I was. I sincerely never looked into Vietnam until Semester at Sea. All I really knew was the war between Vietnam and the United States, and all the harm they’ve faced because of it. The American soldiers suffered a lot, and Vietnam is still recovering.

I thought I was going to see a much poorer country. However, Ho Chi Minh City surprised me. I can’t forget to mention how everything is much cheaper there too — it’s actually I little ridiculous. I was not complaint though.

My first day I walked around the city. The most interesting part about Vietnam is the traffic! I can’t emphasize enough how many times I thought I was going to get run over. The amount of motorcycles on the streets is just overwhelming. There are so many people as well, I just did not know where to look.
We learned before getting off the ship to: not walk too slow; not walk too fast; not to stop. Walk normal pace, and they will find their way around you. It works!!! I don’t know how. Many times I closed my eyes to cross, I mean, with eyes open just gives more anxiety, and since we can’t stop, with eyes closed makes it easier to keep walking.

I went to the Cu Chi tunnels the next day, which is a huge area of connected underground tunnels They are connections where the military during the war operated. They worked as their hiding spots and how they moved quickly during combat without being seeing. And also through where they transmitted food,weapons and such.

I was not very happy when I got there. I am not a war person, and these kind of emotions really get to me. But it is reality, and something I had to see. Vietnamese people were so nice, however, I could still see the pain in their eyes, especially in historical places like these, where so many citizens died in combat.

I got to enter in one tunnel, and oh man — I couldn’t even breath. The tour guide in the front was so tiny, he moved like a little rat, and disappeared through the darkness of the tunnel. I couldn’t see a palm on front of me, and it was hard to breath. I do not now how they survived during combat. I started to feel anxiety just to think about being there longer.

The guide also showed us tricks they used to use on the Americans, since they were not used to fighting in environments like the Vietnamese grounds, and many of the ways they killed the soldiers.

The most interesting part for me, was when I was able to shoot and AK-47(Gun Vietnamese soldiers used). Again, I am not a war person, and I never held a gun before in my life. Nevertheless, it was part of the experience.

He gave me 5 bullets, and there I was, holding a gun for the first time. I was scared. I know this sounds so silly, but for some reason I have always been really scared of guns. It was a nice experience to get the feeling of it, though. But it scared me to think what is used for. Call me fruity, scary, baby, or whatever, but these “cool” stuff are just not for me.

I also went to the war museum, which made me “hate” Americans. Not American citizens, but the government back than, of course. I know that those that fought for their country, and are still alive today, still have scars and suffer from it. But I also saw the whole war perspective from the Vietnamese side, and they are still not the same since, according to my guide.

De agora em diante, eu sabia que o tempo ia simplesmente voar. Tinhamos mais 3 portos depois de Singapore, com somente dois dias entre cada no navio. Ainda sim, temos aula todos os dias, com coisas para estudar e escrever (Eu sei, raramente falo sobre os estudos, mas e algo que toma uma boa parte da energis swui)

Eu fui bem nos paises Africanos, e acho que tambem fui bem na India, principalmente por parecer Indiana. Eu basicamente sentia que eu podia me encaixar em todos de uma forma ou outra em todos esses lugares. Mas, na Asia a historia seria totalmente diferente. Eu nao tinha nem ideia de como seria. Obviamente, eu nao pareceria com nenhuma pessoa local, e a lingua com certeza seria um dos obstaculos mas dificeis.

Vietnam – ali eu estava. Eu sinceramente nunca pensei em visitar o Vietnam ate o Semester at Sea. Tudo que eu realmente sabia era sobre a guerra contra os Estados Unidos, e toda dor que eles passaram. Os soldados Americanos tambem sofreram muito, e o Vietnam ate hoje esta se recuperando.

Eu pensei que veria um pais muito mais pobre. Mas, a cidade de Ho Chi Minh City me surpreendeu. Eu sei que nas areas rurais a historia e totalmente diferente de como se ve na cidade grande, assim como a China, e a maioria dos paises.
Eu tambem nao posso me esquecer do preco das coisas e como tudo e muito mais barato- chega a ser um pouco ridiculo. Enfim, nao estava me queixando.

Meu primeiro dia, andei pela cidade. O que eu achei mais interessante foi o trafego! Eu nao tenho palavras para explicar quantas vezes eu achei que todo o engarrafamento passaria por cima de mim. A quantidade de motos na rua e muito para digerir. Tinha muita gente tambem na rua, e eu nao sabia para onde olhar.
Antes de sairmos do navio, nos aconselharam a: nao andar muito devagar, nao andar muito rapido, e nao parar. Andar normal porque assim eles acham o seu caminho ao redor de nos. E da certo! Nao sei como. Varias vezes fechei os olhos e atravessei, afinal, de olhos abertos da mais ansiedade,e ja que nao podemos parar, so de olhos fechados para continuar andando mesmo.

Eu fui para os Cu Chi tunels, que e uma area imensa de tunels conectados onde os soldados trabalhavam durante a guerra. Os tunels eram como esconderijos e o jeito que eles e moviam sem serem vistos durante o combate. E tambem onde eles passavam comida, armas e etc.

Eu nao me senti feliz estando la. Eu nao sou uma pessoa que gosta de guerra e coisas do tipo, essas emocoes nao me fazem bem. Mas faz parte da realidade e da historia, e algo que eu precisava ver. Vietnamitas sao pessoas boas e nos trataram bem, mas eu consegui ver a dor nos olhos deles, principalmente em lugares historicos que nem esses, onde tantos cidadas morreram em combate.

Eu entrei em um tunel, e nossa — eu nao conseguia nem respirar. O guia na minha frente era tao pequenino, e se movia dentro do tunel parecendo um ratinho, e desaparecia na escuridao do tunel. Eu nao conseguia ver um palmo na minha frente, e era dificil para respirar. Eu nao sei como eles sobreviveram durante o combate. Eu senti ansiedade so de pensar em ficar ali dentro por mais tempo.

O guía tambem nos mostrou armadilhas que eles usavam para matar os Americanos, ja que eles nao sabiam lutar no ambiente do Vietnam.

A parte mais interessante para mim, foi quando eu atirei a arma AK-47 (a arma que os soldados Vietnamitas usaram). Novamente, eu nao sou uma pessoa que gosta de historias de guerras, e eu nunca tinha segurado uma arma antes na minha vida. Mesmo assim, foi toda a parte da experiencia.

O moco me deu 5 balas, e ali eu estava segurando uma arma pela primeira vez. Eu tive medo. Eu sei que parece besteira, mas por alguma razao, eu tenho um medo imenso de armas, ate de brincadeira. Mas foi bom ter tido essa experiencia. Me assustou de ter atirado, o som e muito alto. Me chama de besta, de medrosa, de bebe, ou o que seja, mas essas coisas “legais” nao sao a minha cara.

Eu tambem fui para o museu de guerra, que me fez “odiar” os Americanos. Nao os cidadas Americanos, mas o governo que fez isso. Eu sei que aqueles que lutaram pelo seu pais, e ainda estam vivos hoje, ainda tem feridas e sofrem com isso. Mas eu tambem vi a perspectiva da guerra do ponto de vista dos Vietnamitas, que ate hoje nao sao os mesmo, como disse o guia.

Categories: Vietnam | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on ““Same Same, but different” Vietnam

  1. Rose Sampaio

    Ao ver os videos do Vietnam e interessante saber a forma em que eles se defendiam dos americanos
    nesta guerra com suas armadilhas. E claro que voce aprendeu o melhor de tudo isso!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

