More of Vietnam

After walking around the city, getting lost at the Backpacker’s district, meeting some interesting travelers and locals and eating pho, were just a few of things that I did that made Ho Chi Minh City that much interesting.

I even went to a spa with a couple of friends, where a full massage for a hour is 5 dollars. I ha an amazing time. However, we got warned, especially the guys, to not stay for the “happy ending.”
What that is that, prostitution is a huge thing in Vietnam, and sadly, a lot of women after massages, ask the guy that question.
While we were there, my guy friends did not get asked for a “happy ending”, but they did feel very uncomfortable during the massages, since the girls were trying really hard to flirt with them. They separated us girls from them, to have an opportunity to touch them. They left looking a little awkward, and sad that such things is so common. Most of these women are event trafficked, which is even worse.

Ho Chi Mihn City was a great time, though.
However, I wanted to see the other side; like always. There is always the other side of a big and somewhat developed city.
I ended up heading to the Mekong Delta, which was a few hours away. On our way there, I asked the driver if he could stop at a village, a random village, where I could see the real deal of how the people on the other side live.
He was so nice, and stopped at a rice field and a little village.

They let us in their houses, and we met their family. We could not really speak to each other, but the man that welcomed us to his house, always had a smile on his face. His wife, was also so welcoming. She introduced me to her daughter, that was a little shy at first. I don’ think they are used to having visitors, especially random ones like us.

We did not spend much time there, but it was nice to see the way those people live. Like I have said before, it always reminds me of how lucky I am, and how stupid we are for complaining about our lives.

We got to the river, where they have a big touristic part. I crossed the river, ate their fresh fruit, heard some Vietnamese music, ate their candy (so yummy, especially the coconut one), and ate some seafood. They offered snakes! I could not eat it. Sadly I did not see the floating market, we were there a little late.
My favorite part was riding a bike for almost a hour. It reminded me a lot of my childhood, which made me feel so free. I got to see some interesting faces along the way. We also stopped at a temple, just to take a look. A lady there tried talking to me, but she was depth. She kept pointing at my ears and laughing. She was pointing at my piercings, and made funny faces as if i was crazy. She liked it though, kept pointing at her ears almost saying she wanted some too. I think I looked really weird to this people, especially with my little hat trying to look like a local.

The part about Vietnam that touched me the most, was meeting a girl at a shop at the Backpacker’s district. We were looking at some stuff, and I noticed she spoke English. We started talking about random things, then she started to open up and talking about herself. She was my age, and was going to college. I told her I was traveling the world, and she was so excited, saying that was her dream. But that sadly, in Vietnam would be almost impossible. She started telling me details about her life,saying that she goes to school from 7am to 12pm, works from 2pm to 11pm — everyday. She said she needs to work hard to help her family, especially if she wants to keep going to school. Than she added “I hang out with my friends, probably..twice a year.” Wow.
What struck me the most, was how satisfied she looked. She was not complaining to me while she was telling me her story. For her, that was reality, and that’s it. She was not whining and feeling sorry for herself, or even asked me for help, or anything. She seemed like a friend I would have. She said whenever I go back to Vietnam, that she would be there. I told her the same, if she ever finds her way to Brazil.

I hugged her really tight when I left and told her that I know times can get harder than what it’s really supposed to be, but no matter what happens, to not get out of school, or stop believing in her dreams. I reminded her my dream was also to travel the world, and there I was.

We both smiled, and I walked away, thinking to myself, how lucky I am to meet people like these.

Mais Vietnam

Depois de ter andado pela cidade inteira, ter me perdido no distrito dos mochileiros, conhecido viajantes e locais mais que interessantes , comido pho, foram so algumas coisas que fizeram Ho Chi Minh City mais interessante.
Ainda fui para um spa com uns amigos, onde uma massagem completa por uma hora e 5 dolares. Eu tive um momento maravilhoso de relaxamento. Mas, nas minhas aulas e no navio, eles abriram nossos olhos, principalmente dos homens, para dizer nao ao “final feliz.”
O que isso quer dizer, e que prostituicao e muito comum no Vietnam, e infelizmente, muitas mulheres depois das massagem fazem essa pergunta.
Enquanto estavamos la, nao fizeram a pergunta para meus amigos homens, mas eles nao se sentiram confortaveis durante a massagem. As meninas estavam tocando eles, e falando coisinhas no ouvido e flertando. Elas separam nos mulheres deles, estavamos em outra sala; acredito que as coisas ja acontecam assim para que elas tenham a oportunidade de tocar neles. Eles sairam de la se sentindo estranhos, e sem acreditar um pouco na situacao. Triste, que essas coisas sejam tao comuns. Muitas dessas mulheres sao traficadas, que e o pior.

Mesmo assim, eu passei um tempo otimo na cidade.
Mas, eu queria ver o outro lado. Como sempre, eu querendo ver o lado de tudo. Sempre existe o outro lado de uma cidade grande ou de uma certa forma, desenvolvida.
Eu acabei viajando para o Mekong Delta, que era algumas horas dali. No caminho para la, pedir para o motorista parar em uma vila, qualquer vila, aonde eu pudesse conhecer a realidade de como as pessoas vivem longe da cidade grande. Ele era muito bom, e parou em uma plantacao de arroz, e uma vila pequena.

Uma familia abriu a porta para nos, e nos apresentou a sua familia. Nao podiamos nos comunicar, mas o homem que nos deu bem vindas a sua humilde casa sempre tinha um sorriso no rosto. A sua mulher tambem nos desejou boas vindas. Ela me apresentou a sua filhinha, que estava timida no inicio. Nao sei se eles estam acostumados a receber visitas assim, ainda mais do nada que nem a gente.

Nao ficamos muito tempo la, mas foi bom ter tido a oportunidade de ver como as pessoas vivem. Como eu ja disse antes, sempre me lembra o quanto eu seu sortuda, e como somos tao idiotas de reclamar das nossas vidas.

Chegamos no rio Delta, onde tinha mais coisas turisticas. Eu passei pelo rio de barco, comi fruta fresca, ouvi musica Vietnamita, comi o doce deles (tao gostoso, o melhor era de coco), e almocei algum fruto do mar. Tinha ate cobra! Nao tive coragem de comer aquilo. Pena que eu nao vi o mercado flutuante que eles tem porque chegamos mais tarde.
A minha parte favorita, foi ter andado de bicicleta por quase uma hora. Me lembrou muito a minha infancia, que me faz sentir tao livre. Eu vi varios rostos interessantes no caminho. Paramos em um templo, so para dar uma olhado. Uma senhora tentou falar comigo, mas ela era surda. Ela ficou apontando para a minha orelha e rindo. Dai percebi que ela apontava para os meus piercings, e fazia caras engracadas. Acho que ela achava eu uma doida com todos os meus piercings. Mas ela gostou, pos ficou apontando para a sua propia orelha depois, como que se dissesse que queria tambem. Acho que eu pareco esquisita para as pessoas aqui, ainda mais com meu chapeuzinho querendo parecer uma local.

A parte que mais me tocou no Vietnam, foi conhecer uma menina em um loja no distrito dos mochileiros. Estavamos olhando umas coisas, e eu percebi que ela falava Ingles, ou pelo menos um pouco. Comecamos a conversar sobre coisas bobas, ate que ela comecou a se abrir e falar um pouco dela. Ela tinha a minha idade, e estava estudando tambem. Eu disse que estava ali porque estava viajando o mundo. Ela ficou muito feliz, e disse que era o sonho dela, mas que infelizmente no Vietnam era quase impossivel. Ela comecou a me contar detalhes sobre a sua vida, me dizenod que ia para a faculdade das 7am ate as 12pm, e depois ia pro trabalho das 2pm ate as 11pm — todos os dias. Ela me disse que precisava trabalhar muito para ajudar a familia, principalmente se ela quisesse estudar. Depois ela continuou ” Eu so saiu com meus amigos, provavavelmente…duas vezes no ano.” Nossa.
O que me assustou mais, foi o fato dela estar satisfeita. Ela nao estava reclamando para me enquanto contava a sua historia. Para ela, aquilo era a sua realidade, e pronto. Ela nao estava chorando nem tendo pena dela mesmo. Muito menos me pedindo ajuda ou nada do tipo. Ela parecia uma amiga que eu teria se eu tivesse mais tempo de conhecer-la. Ela me disse quando eu quizer voltar para o Vietnam, para encontrar com ela. E eu disse o mesmo a ela se um dia resolver aparecer pelo Brasil.

Eu a abracei forte antes de ir embora, e lhe disse que nao importa o quanto a vida pareca ser mais dificil do que deveria ser, que ela nao saia da faculdade, e que nunca pare de acreditar nos seus sonhos. Eu a lembrei que meu sonho tambem era viajar pelo mundo, e que eu estava ali.

Nos duas rimos. Quando fui embora, falei para mim mesma o quanto eu sou sortuda de conhecer pessoas assim.

Categories: Vietnam | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “More of Vietnam

  1. James Gonser

    Do you remember the girl’s name? Did you take a photo of her? Years from now you will remember the feeling when talking to her, but the face and the sound of her voice will fade.

  2. Rose Sampaio

    A questao do trafico de pessoas e prostituicao tambem e um problema em nosso proprio
    pais , o Brasil, onde muitas mulheres se prostituem e sao levadas ao trafico como voce
    deve ter visto , lido e aprendido em Manaus!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

