Fake Money/ Dinheiro Falso

Those that have read my last post are probably wondering what was the deal with the taxi driver. Trust me, I went to sleep thinking the same thing.

After waking up, we grabbed breakfast at a hostel on the main street, where they also sold train tickets. We had to meet the ship in Shanghai the next morning, since we just bought an one way ticket to Beijing.

As the lady was counting off the money from all of us in order to purchase the tickets, she said, “Sorry, but most of these bills are fake.”

As some of you can possibly imagine, we all said “WHAT?” with desperate eyeballs, almost popping out of our faces.

Long story short…we got tricked – by the ATM. Yes, it was a fraud, and the reason why the taxi driver was yelling at me. He thought I was trying to trick him, but in reality I was the one tricked. I was left with almost no money since all my bills were fake. I lost around $300, which was my savings for my last day in Beijing and the next days in Shanghai!

It was too late to go back to that ATM since we were so far already. As we tried to explain to few banks that were around, the language barrier took us nowhere but to blank faces. From my whole trip, I believe that was the worst situation that happened.

I am not going to deny how upset and worried I was; that would have not happened if we weren’t tourists, walking around on wrong places, getting tricked by fraud ATMs and not even noticing the bills.

We noticed that the issue with the fake money was a little common in China; at least it seemed. Almost all restaurants had a machine, where they would check if the money was fake, and people were already aware of it. I was not just worried about the money they took, but if that ATM would keep all our info and take out all the money there was. We went through the desperate stage of trying to call people at home to check the account, or trying to contact the bank. A place where is not so easy to just access Facebook, made it a little harder at that time when we needed to communicate.

We were able to take out some money and help each other out, but I could not even imagine if I was left with literally nothing on the bank, or if I was alone.

Luckily, I tend to look at things on a brighter note. I was glad it wasn’t anything physical, and that I was okay. Money comes and goes, and truthfully, by the end of this trip I will be so broke that I won’t even remember these $300. I mean, I have spent my college student money on the most amazing things I could possibly do, so I guess being part of a fraud in Beijing is also part of the “being amazing.”

After that, my friend Erica and I decided to go on with our day in Beijing, and decided to rent a bike, but not any bike – the one with two seats. We chose a blue one, which made us look even more goofier. We rode around the Forbidden City, got lost a couple of times, but luckily we mastered at pointing at maps and asking “where??”

When we were feeling like pros riding that bike…of course, we broke it. There we were – in the middle of Beijing, God knows where, on a blue bike with two seats asking for help. Some locals stopped to figure us out (instead of the bike), and would walk away. Most of them would try to help us fix it, but then would give up. Until a gentlemen told us to follow him to a bike shop right around the corner. Oh, how convenient. I would say we’re blessed.

As we watch the guy tearing the bike apart, we try to figure out how these adventures just randomly happen to us.

Finally the bike got fixed and we couldn’t even thank him enough. He was a little shy, and I think we scared him a little since we were hysterically happy when he gave us back the bike.

Since that was our last night, we ate somewhere nice, bought some earrings at a store from Tibet, where I got blessed by a Tibetan guy, and at night went on a clubbing adventure in the heart Beijing; where I heard the song “Ai Se Eu Te Pego” – Seriously? In China?

I danced a lot, had a really fun night, made a few friends and got back to the hotel, ready to leave for Shanghai on that morning.

Beijing was an amazing and magical place, and despite the obstacles I faced, it did not change a thing about my experience; on the contrary, it made me a stronger traveler and more aware of my surroundings.

Dinheiro Falso

Aqueles que leram o meu ultimo post, provavelmente estam se perguntando o que realmente houve com o motorista do taxi. Acredite, eu fui dormir pensando a mesma coisa,

Depois sue acordamos, tomatoes cafe no hostel da rue central, once tambem vendiam passagens do metro. Tinhamos que encontrar o navio em Shanghai na seguinda manha, ja que tinhamos comprado apenas uma passagem de ida para Beijing.

Enquanto a moca contava o nosso dinheiro para comprar as passagens, ela disse, “Perdao, mas essas notas sao falsas.”

Como muitos de voces podem imaginar, dissemos “E O QUE?” com olhares desesperados, praticamente saindo das nossas caras.

Resumindo…fomos enganados – pelo caixa eletronico. Sim, foi uma fraude, e a razao porque o taxista estava me gritando. Ele achou que eu estava tentando o enganar, mas em realidade, eu que tinha sido enganada. Eu nao tinha quase dinheiro nenhum comigo, ja que quase todas as minhas notas eram falsas. Eu perdi em cerca de $300, que estava guardando para o meu ultimo dia em Beijing e os meus proximos dias em Shanghai.

Era muito tarde para voltar ao caixa eletronico ja que estavamos muito longe. Enquanto tentavamos explicar para alguns bancos que tinha ao redor a nossa situacao, a barreira da linguagem nos levou somente para rostos cheios de duvidas. Aquele incidente foi o pior que me aconteceu na viagem.

Nao vou mentir o quanto que fiquei chateada e preocupada; aquilo nao teria acontecido se nos nao fossemos turistas, andando em lugares errados, sendo enganados por fraudes de caixa eletronico sem nem perceber.

Percebemos que aquele problema parecia comum na China. Quase todos os restaurantes tinham uma maquina, onde eles checavam se o dinheiro era falso ou nao, e as pessoas estavam alertas. Eu nao estava preocupada somente com o dinheiro que eles roubaram, mas sim se o xaica eletronico ficasse com as minhas informacoes e tirasse o resto de todo o nosso dinheiro. Passamos pela fase desesperada tentando ligar para os bancos ou para familiares em casa olhar a nossa conta. Em um lugar que o acesso ao Facebook nao era facil, complicou as coisas mais um pouco na hora de tentar se comunicar.

Acabamos que conseguimos sacar um pouco mais de dinheiro e ajudar o outro, mas nao posso nem imaginar como teria sido se eu estivesse zerada no banco, ou sozinha.

Felizmente, eu costume a olhar as coisas pelo lado bom. Eu estava agradecida que nao foi nada fisico ou grave e que eu estava bem. Dinheiro vai e vem, e para falar a verdade, ate chegar o final dessa viagem, eu estarei tao quebrada que nem vou lembrar desses $300. Eu tenho gastado todo o meu dinheiro da faculdade em uma das coisas mais surpreendentes que eu possa fazer, entao fazendo parte de um fraude em Beijing faz parte desse “ser surpreendente” que sou.

Depis disso, eu e minha amiga Erica decidimos continuar nosso dia em Beijing, e alugamos uma bicicleta, mas nao qualquer uma – a que tem dois lugares. Escolhemos uma azul ainda por cima, que nos deu ainda mais uma cara de palhaca.

Nos pedalamos ao redor da Cidade Proibida, nos perdemos as vezes, mas felizmente ja eramos masters em apontar ao mapa e perguntar “onde??”

Quando ja estavamos nos sentindo profissionais pedalando aquela bicicleta…claro, quebramos. Estavamos no meio de Beijing, so Deus sabe aonde, com uma bicicleta de dois lugares azul pedindo ajuda. Alguns locais pararam para nos entender (ao inves de entender o que tinha acontecido com a bike), e depois saiam de mansinho. Muitos tentavam ajudar a consertar, mas depois desistiam. Ate que um cavalheiro nos disse para segui-lo ate um conserto de bikes na esquina. Ai, que conveniente. Eu diria que somos abencoadas.

Enquanto nos assistiamos o rapaz desmontando aquela bike, tentavamos entender como aquele tipo de aventura as vezes sempre acontece com a gente.

Finalmente els consertou a bike e nos nao tinhamos nem palavras para agrader-lo. Ele era um pouco timido, e acho que o assustamos enquanto estavamos histericamente felizes depois que ele nos devolveu a bike.

Ja que aquela era a nossa ultima noite em Beijing, comemos em um restaurante bom, compramos um brinco em uma loja de Tibet, onde fui abencoada por um Tibetano, e na noite fomos para uma aventura em uma boate em Beijing, onde eu ouvi “Ai Se Eu Te Pego.” — Serio isso? Na China?

Dancei muito, tive uma noite divertida, fiz amizades e depois voltei para o hotel, onde nos preparavamos para ir a Shanghai aquela manha.

Beijing foi um lugar magico e maravilhoso, e apesar dos obstaculos que passei la, nao mudou nem um pouco a minha experiencia; ao contrario, me fez ser uma viajante mais forte e mais atenta

Categories: China | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

