Last stop in China: Shanghai

We woke up early in the morning and caught a train to Shanghai.

During the ride, I thought about the craziness we just did, of simply buying an one-way ticket to a city we did not even know, where we didn’t speak the language and had no idea where to stay. I was glad to be on that train back to where my safe harbor, the ship, was; however, I was so proud of us.

During these adventures, I always think about what I did after it’s over. I am always going through motions, almost getting thrown out there and I simply loving it, until I realize how crazy I am.

When I first arrived in Shanghai, it was already late afternoon. We went around for awhile, visited a few shops and took a good look at the city. So different from Beijing, I could relate it more to Hong Kong. It’s much more sophisticated and developed. The Bund is where everything happens, and the view is simply amazing.

Although I love development and all the city life, me and some friends decided to visit the “Old China.” It looked very different from the Bund and everything surrounding it. They had a market with every type of food possible (even scorpions and all those delicious bugs too).

I also visited the Garden Yu, and some temples, which I never get tired of.

Overall, China was filled with history. I faced some hardships there, but it taught me a lot about myself, especially as a traveler. Despite the language barrier and all the difficulties we faced on the way of traveling alone, I had an amazing time everywhere I went and never took for granted those that I met along the way. It was also interesting visiting another communist country and seeing how things work differently from the United States.

I wish I had more time in China; this place is magical, and all these adventures will stay in my memories forever.

Ultima parada na China: Shanghai

Acordamos cedo e pegamos o trem para Shanghai.

Durante a viagem, comecei a pensar na loucura que tinhamos acabado de fazer, de simplesmente ter comprado uma passagem de ida para um cidade que nao conheciamos, onde nao falavamos a lingua, e nao tinhamos um lugar para ficar. Eu estava feliz de estar voltando para o meu porto seguro, o navio; mas eu estava muito orgulhosa de nos.

Durante essas aventuras, eu sempre penso quando ela ja acabou. Eu sempre estou em movimento, praticamente sendo jogada no mundão e amando, ate quando eu paro para pensar o quanto eu sou doida.

Logo quando cheguei em Shanghai, ja era durante a tarde. Saimos para caminhar um pouco, visitamos uns shops e reparamos bem a cidade. Ela é tão diferente de Beijing, podia relaciona-la muito mais com Hong Kong. Era muito mais sofisticada e desenvolvida. O Bund é aonde tudo acontece, e a vista é simplesmente maravilhosa.

Mesmo amando o desenvolvimento e toda a vida que uma cidade grande oferece, eu e uns amigos decidimos visitar a “Velha China.” Era bem diferente do Bund e tudo que tinha ao redor. Eles tinham um mercado que vendia praticamente todos os tipos de comida ( incluindo escorpioes e todas aqueles mosquitos deliciosos tambem).

Tambem visitamos o Jardim Yu e outros templos, que eu nunca me canso de ver.

China foi repleta de historia. Eu passei por alguns obstaculos, mas que me ensinaram muito sobre mim mesma, principalmente como viajante. Mesmo com a barreira linguistica e todas as dificuldades que passamos viajando sozinhos, eu tive um tempo maravilhoso em todos os lugares que fui, e valorizei cada pessoa que encontrei no caminho. Foi interessante visitar outro pais comunista e ver como as coisas sao diferentes dos Estados Unidos.

Queria ter tido mais tempo na China; esse lugar é magico, e todas as aventuras que tive prevalecerão para sempre em minha memoria.

Categories: China | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Last stop in China: Shanghai

  1. Rose

    Mamy Chula,
    A cada post seu sobre cada pais e cidades que voce visitou voce deixa a ideia maravilhosa e interessante que nos desejamos descobrir mais e quem sabe visitar estes lugares no futuro.
    Obrigada pelo seu talento,
    I love you!
    Your momy
    Rose

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

