Consulate in Japan and changes in plans

JAPAN! The ship arrived in Kobe, and I already had chills inside the ship – it was so cold!

I had mixed feelings before arriving there. Firstly, it was the last port I would get to travel around. My lifetime adventure on the ship was coming to an end, and the more I tried to tell myself that, I was still in denial. So, the best I could do was enjoy the people and the places I had left. And come on..I was in Japan!

I had a field trip to attend for my Political Science class the morning we arrived. I went to Osaka’s American consulate. We got to hear them talk about the relations between Japan and the United States and understand about their job positions and what they do as far as a consulate.
I learned a lot from them, especially because I was always very interested in the whole international relations subject.

Some people say there are certain things that happen to you, that can change your life forever, or decisions you make that takes you to that exact road your are heading –That day at the consulate I changed my whole life in my mind and my heart.

Since I was a little girl, I said I would major in International Relations, although I did not even know what that meant. As time went by, I enjoyed the communications program, and that is what I decided to lead to in college. When arriving at Chaminade, I thought I had my whole life planned out: Major in communications, graduate a semester early, go to grad school, get a job in a big TV station, and boom — that’s what I wanted; or thought I wanted.

That day at the consulate I left with totally different plans. First, I thought about the whole graduating early “thing.” Why? After the ship, I realized I should take my time and enjoy everything. Why leave Hawaii so soon? Why not take my time, graduate with my friends, decide what I really want to do? The world is scary out there, and I need to be prepared. One plan crossed off my list. I wanted to take as much time as I could in college.

Communications? I love that field, but now I did not see my whole life working in a TV station like I did before. I want to become a diplomate! I want to become a powerful woman, make changes, and make a difference. Not just that…I want to do that in my own country, Brazil.

What? What happened with grad school? Well..I will not have too much time in my hands studying for the diplomacy test that will take me a few years to pass.

In a matter of few hours, my life did a 360 (not only around the world on a ship), but in my own head. I left the consulate with a big smile on my face. I think that is how you’re supposed to feel when you find yourself. Or at least a little piece of yourself. It feels good.

Hello, Japan! New Suse in the house!

Consulado no Japao e mudanca de planos

JAPÅO! O navio chegou em Kobe, e eu ja estava tremendo dentro do navio – estava muito frio la fora!

Eu estava com os meus sentimentos confusos enquanto chegava. Primeiramente, era o ultimo porto que eu ia poder sair por ai viajando. Minha aventura para a vida inteira dentro daquele navio estava chegando ao fim, e por mais que eu tentasse dizer isso a mim mesma, eu estava tentando fugir. Entao, o melhor que fiz foi curtir o melhor possivel as pessoas e o pais que ainda me restava. E aqui pra nos..eu estava no Japao!

Eu tinha um trabalho para ir para a minha aula de Ciencias Politicas naquela propia manha. Fui ao consulado Americano em Osaka. Tivemos a oportunidade de ouvir eles falarem sobre a relacao entre o Japao e os Estados Unidos e entender a posicao de cada um e o que eles fazem dentro do consulado.
Eu aprendi muito, especialmente por eu sempre ter tido um interesse muito grande no assunto de relacoes internacionais.

Algumas pessoas dizem que ha certas coisas que acontecem com nos, que mudam as nossas vidas para sempre, ou decisoes que tomamos que nos levam a exatamente o caminho que estamos tracando — aquele dia no consulado eu estava mudando e tracando a minha vida na minha mente e no meu coracao.

Quando pequena, eu dizia que ia me formar em Relacoes Internacionais, mesmo sem saber o que realmente significava. O tempo passou, e eu me apaixonei pelo curso de Comunicacao, que foi o caminho que eu escolhi na faculdade. Quando cheguei na Chaminade, eu achei que ja tinha a minha vida resolvida: Me formar em Comunicacao, me formar um semestre mais cedo, tirar o meu MBA, conseguir um emprego em uma estacao de TV grande, e boom — era aquilo que eu eria; ou que eu pensava que queria.

O dia no consulado mudou totalmente os meus planos. Primeiramente, o pensamento de me formar mais cedo. Pra que? Depois do navio, eu percebi que eu preciso tomar o meu tempo em tudo e curtir o maximo possivel das experiencias. Porque deixar o Hawaii mais cedo? Porque nao me formar juntos com os meus amigos, e ai decidir o que eu realmente quero fazer? O mundo é louco la fora, e eu preciso estar preparada. Um plano riscado na minha lista. Eu ficar na faculdade quanto mais tempo possivel.

Comunicacao? Eu amo essa area, mas agora ja nao sei se me vejo trabalhando em uma estacao de TV a minha vida toda, como eu achei que eu queria. Eu quero ser uma diplomata! Quero ser uma mulher poderosa, fazer mudancas, e fazer diferenca. E nao é somente isso…eu quero fazer no meu propio pais, Brasil.

O que? E o MBA? Bom…ja terei muito tempo ocupado estudando para passar no concurso de diplomacia que me levara uns anos.

Em questao de algumas horinhas, minha vida fez um 360 (nao somente ao redor de um navio), mas na minha propia cabeca. Eu sai do consulado com um sorriso imenso no rosto. Acho que é assim que devemos nos sentir quando sentimos que nos encontramos. Ou pelo menos um pedacinho. E é um sentimento bom.

Olá, Japao! A nova Suse esta chegando!

Categories: Japan | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

