Backpacking in Japan/ Mochilão no Japão

I only had 5 days to spend in Japan – and I had to make the most out of it. Besides being the last port I would get to travel with loved ones from the ship, Japan was a country I always wanted to explore.

It didn’t take much to make Japan one of my favorite countries from this whole trip — a backpack, a sweater, an umbrella, money to eat and sleep, maps of the cities, maps of train times, great company, sense of humor and a “cheat sheet” of some Japanese words; and we were ready to hit the road.

The ship docked in Kobe, and since I ended up in Osaka, we decided to spend the night there. Osaka is known to be the “youth” city filled with lights and night life.

Since my main focus in Japan was to eat, we started off eating Kobe beef. After walking around and exploring the city, we stopped again to eat sushi. I lost count of how many sushi places I stopped by, but until this day I have not eaten anything better than the shrimp and the salmon I ate throughout Japan. So expansive though! Japan was the most expansive country (maybe it was because I could not help myself every time I would see a good sushi restaurant).

It was a very interesting experience trying to communicate. Japanese people are very intelligent and educated, and although many of them pretty much understood or spoke some English, some of them were afraid to speak much. Nevertheless, the best times were trying to read a menu written just in Japanese or trying to communicate with the waitress that knew no English. I have to say our cheat sheet was a hero.

I was impressed of how many people I asked for help on the train stations that would not just help me giving directions, but would walk with me to get there. I met some very nice people getting lost on all those train lines and colors on the map.

We saw Osaka from a fair wheel , walked around town, ended up in Namba, where all the action happens at night and made the best out of it. My first day in Japan was a blast, and since we did not have much time, Kyoto andTokyo were waiting for us the next morning.

Mochilão no Japão

Eu só tinha 5 dias para explorar o Japão – e tinha que fazer o melhor desses dias. Além daquele ser o último porto que eu viajaria com os meus amados do navio, Japão era um pais que eu sempre quis viajar.

Não precisei de muito para fazer com que o Japão se tornasse um dos meus paises favoritos de toda a viagem — uma mochila, um casaco, um guarda-chuva, dinheiro para comer e dormir, mapas das cidades e dos trens, uma boa companhia, senso de humor, uma folhinha com palavras em Japonês; e estávamos prontos para seguir o caminho.

O navio parou em Kobe, e já que eu já tinha parado em Osaka, planejamos passar a noite lá. Osaka é conhecida como uma cidade “jovem” repleta de luzes e vida da noitada.

Já que o foco principal no Japão era comer, começamos a comer Kobe beef. Depois de ter andado explorando a cidade, paramos novamente e comemos sushi. Eu perdi a conta de quantos restaurantes de sushi eu parei, em compensação, até hoje não comi um camarão um salmão melhor do que o do Japão. Mas, muito caro! Japão foi o pais mais caro para viajar (talvez por eu não ter conseguido parar a boca todo restaurante de sushi que eu visse).

Foi uma experiência interessante ao tentar me comunicar. Os Japoneses são muito inteligentes e educados, e mesmo que a maioria deles entendessem ou falassem um pouco de Inglês, muitos tinham medo de praticar a língua. Mesmo assim, os melhores momentos eram quando tentávamos pedir algo no menu que estava todo em Japonês ou tentando conversar com a garçonete que não falava nada de Inglês. Tenho que admitir que o papelzinho com as palavras em Japonês foi o herói.

Fiquei impressionada com a quantidade de pessoas que pedimos ajuda nas estações de trem que não tentavam ajudar somente dando direções, mas andavam com a gente até chegar no lugar certo. Eu conheci pessoas maravilhosas enquanto me perdia nas cores e linhas dos trens no mapa.

Vimos Osaka de uma roda gigante, andamos pela cidade, acabamos em Namba, onde toda a ação na noite acontece, e fizemos daquela experiência o melhor que podíamos. Meu primeiro dia no Japão foi maravilhoso, e já que não tinha muito tempo a perder, Kyoto e Tokyo me esperavam no dia seguinte.

Categories: Japan | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

