Yokohama and the end of Japan trip

Our last morning in Tokyo was spent in the Tokyo Tower, where we could see a 360 degrees of the whole city, including Mt. Fuji. Although it was a foggy and cold day, I was still able to see it. We finished our day eating the best sushi I’ve ever had in the Fish Market – and most expansive too!

The transportation in Japan is simply spectacular. it is so easy to get from a city to another or to simply move around in one town by just using the train system.
We caught the train that afternoon to Yokohama, where we would meet the ship to leave to our last stop before getting off the ship, Hilo.

We met with a couple of friends and grabbed dinner at a restaurant where instead of seats, there were beds. Convenient, huh? We we able to grab a drink and eat as if we were in the comfort of our own home in our own bed. I thought that was pretty smart and fun! Japanese are so creative. Did I mention I love their toilets? Seriously…it has water to wash everything for you…it is warm… and it plays music!t Fantastic toilets I have to say.

Anyways, we also rode the roller coaster (of course, I love those things) that was brighting up the street.

I was finally back on the ship again, after our fun backpacking adventure throughout Japan. The next and last day, I visited the animated museum, where I saw a bunch of marks of my childhood, including the Zodiac Knights, where I felt a immense nostalgia remembering myself growing up watching it. Japanese cartoons play a very important role in many kids lives, I know it did in mine.

On a negative perspective, I had to write a report to my Human and Rights Ethics class about women in these cartoons. In my opinion, Japanese cartoons portray women out of the Japanese women’s reality. In other words, they emphasize the girls usually tall, huge eyes, big breasts and small waists, which is not the Japanese women stereotype. I also noticed their “fetiches” on school girl’s themes, which I don’t understand. I always watched these cartoons growing up, but now that I think about it, I do not see the women in a positive light, always being portrayed in a “sexy childish” way.

Well, I thought it was interesting being able to analyze it, however, it is difficult to understand ones culture when your mind does not think like theirs. That is why traveling allows you to respect all the differences, even when you don’t quite understand it.

Japan was an unforgettable experience, just like the past 10 countries I visited that past semester.

I was back to the ship, and my heart froze. The last port was coming, and although we were all still in denial, we had to face soon we would have to go our separate ways, and that crazy adventure was coming to an end.

Yokohama e o final da viagem no Japão

Passamos a nossa última manhã na Torre de Tokyo, onde podemos ver a vista em 360 degress da cidade, incluindo a montanha Fuji. Apesar de ter sido um dia nublado e frio, eu consegui enxerga-la.

O transporte no Japão é simplesmente espetacular; é tão fácil de sair de uma cidade até outra simplesmente usando o sistema do trem.
Pegamos o trem aquela tarde para Yokohama onde íamos encontrar com o navio para navegar até a nossa última parada, Hilo.

Encontramos alguns amigos e jantamos em um restaurante onde ao invés de cadeiras, eram camas. Conveniente, não? Podemos beber um drink e comer no conforto como se estivéssemos na nossa própria casa e própria cama. Achei muito inteligente e interessante! Os Japoneses são muito criativos. Eu mencionei as privadas? Sério…tem água para te lavar…que é quente por sinal…e ainda toca música para você! Privadas fantásticas, tenho que dizer.

Enfim, depois andamos em uma montanha russa (claro, eu amo essas coisas) que estava iluminando toda a rua.

Finalmente voltamos para o navio, depois da aventura do divertido mochilão no Japão. O dia seguinte, eu visitei um museu, eu eu vi muitas marcas da minha infância, incluindo os Cavalheiros do Zodíaco, onde eu senti uma nostalgia imensa relembrando eu crescendo e assistindo. Os desenhos Japoneses fazem um papel importante na vida de muitas crianças. Eu sei que na minha fez.

Olhando por um lado negativo, eu tive que escrever um papel para a minha aula de Direitos Humanos e Ética, sobre como a mulher é vista nesses desenhos. Na minha opinião, os desenhos Japoneses representam a mulher fora do padrão real da mulher Japonesa e sua realidade. Em outras palavras, eles enfatizam as mulheres geralmente altas, com olhos gigantescos, seios grandes e pequenas cinturas, o que foge totalmente do estereotipo das Japonesas. Também percebi seus “fetiches” com o tema de menina colegial, o que eu não entendo. Eu sempre assisti esses desenhos quando crescendo, mas só agora percebo que a mulher não é vista em uma luz positiva, sendo colocada sempre com o jeito de “criança sexy.”

Bem, eu achei interessante analisar esse tema e criar as minha própria opinião, mas, é difícil de entender a cultura do outra quando a sua mente n˜åo pensa como eles. Por isso que viajar te permiti respeitar todas as diferenças, até aquelas que você não concorda ou não entende.

O Japão foi uma experiência inesquecível, assim como os 10 últimos países que visitei esse semestre.

Eu estava de volta ao navio, e meu coração gelou. O último porto estava por vir, e mesmo que eu ainda tentasse negar, tínhamos que encarar que iríamos partir para diferentes caminhos, e que aquela louca aventura estava chegando ao fim.

Categories: Japan | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

