When it comes to an end

It feels weird. Leaving is weird. You are prepared that this moment will come even before you get on the ship, but for some reason the preparation is never enough. Now, it’s over. Something that I called my routine, it’s now a memory, something inevitable not to think of.

Th feeling of packing the room is indescribable. To see others pack their lives away is even worse. Four months of a life that no one will ever understand, not even yourself, in one suitcase is not easy. 

Image

Through the whole trip I kept saying I have being going through motions, without even stopping to think about it – well, now I did. I stopped, and it hurts, cause time isn’t. A place where it felt warm, comfortable and filling, now looks cold and empty. The room that described my whole trip with all my pictures and postcards on the wall, looks like a strangers’ house.

Image

The halls were filled of us signing each other’s world maps, as if it was the last time we would see each other, which is most likely true for a lot of us.

Image

The feeling of saying good-bye to those trying to figure out the world with you, that cried with you when they didn’t get it and smiled with you when they simply felt part of it was heartbreaking. I had breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday with them, without the interruption of a phone or Facebook. We just understood each other so much that felt like we were each a small piece to a big puzzle, and together we were able to figure it out.

Image

When the ship was arriving I saw my mother, jumping up and down with a Brazilian flag. I saw all those parents that were relieved we made it back safely into their arms. My mind played a trick on me, where for a second I felt happy to be off the ship and hug my mom again. But don’t get me wrong, I figured it all out. I was happy because of who was out there, not because I wanted to be out there again. The ship became my safe zone, and now being back to my reality felt like an adventure I didn’t want to be part of. Being a stranger in someone’s country is acceptable, but a stranger at your own house can be the bigger challenge.

Image

Image

– part of the journal I wrote after getting off the ship. 

Finals week was stressful, just like in any other college. More stressful was looking at each other knowing we only had a few days together. We tried everything- not sleeping, watching movies, dancing, eating, talking, playing music – and it wouldn’t work. We tried as much as we could to fill that emptiness that was already there. We already thought about our lives without one another inside that ship, where everyday we learned something new about the world and ourselves. It is true when they say you will make some lifetime friends. Saying bye to the crew members was also hard, because they completed my routines, shared stories with me, and inspired me in so many ways. 

While I was walking down those stairs for the last time, tears were finally starting to show its presence. There you go, I stopped denying it, and it is finally kicking in.

I hugged my mom so tight, it felt unreal to finally see her again, although it felt like she was with me through the whole way. I watched everyone go away with their families, or off to their new adventures, and I thought to myself: Thank you, God. Thank you so much.

Seeing the ship from the outside angle, was very different.

Image

I remember the feeling of looking at pictures of the ship wishing I was there. I remember getting inside the ship the first time, not believing my dream was coming true. I still remember getting lost on the ship when it looked unfamiliar. I remember the feeling of making it my home and everyone in it. I remember every port, every adventure, everyone that was part of it. And now, I remember the feeling of leaving, and being able to say I lived this dream. I made it come true, and that no one will ever take from me. 

I don’t just remember the moments, but the way I felt, it’s what makes me come alive. It’s what reminds me that everything is possible. If I made this happen, I can make anything happen. 

Now, I can say I am a traveler, not a tourist. Thank you Semester at Sea, for teaching me become a citizen of the world.

Image

Quando chega ao fim

E estranho. Ir embora é estranho. Você está preparado para que esse momento chegue até mesmo antes de entrar no navio, mas por alguma razão, a preparação nunca é suficiente. Agora tinha chegado ao fim. O que era minha rotina, virou uma memória, algo inevitável de não pensar a todo momento.

A sensação de arrumar as malas foi indescritível. Ver os outros arrumando suas vidas nas malas foi pior ainda. Quatro meses de uma vida que ninguém nunca vai entender, nem você mesma, agora está em uma mala.

Durante toda a viagem eu sempre disse que estava somente passando por moções, sem ao mesmo parar para pensar – bom, agora eu parei, e doeu, porque o tempo não parou. O lugar que era quente, confortável e cheio, agora estava frio e vazio. O quarto que descrevia minha viagem inteira com todas as fotos e os cartões postais na parede, agora parecia a casa de um estranho 

Os corredores estavam repletos de nós, assinando o mapa do outro, como se fosse a última vez que íamos nos ver, que para muitos, era verdade.

A sentimento de dizer adeus para aqueles que estavam tentando entender o mundo com você, que chorou quando não conseguiu, e sorriu quando se sentiu parte dele, foi simplesmente de partir o coração. Eu tinha café da manhã, almoço e jantar todos os dias com eles, sem a interrupção de um celular ou uma notificação do Facebook. Nós simplesmente nos entendíamos tanto que parecia que cada um de nós éramos um pedaço de um grande quebra-cabeça, e juntos conseguíamos desvenda-lo. 

Quando o navio estava se aproximando eu vi a minha mãe, pulando para cima e para baixo com uma bandeira do Brasil. Eu vi todos aqueles pais, que estavam aliviados de ver que estávamos voltando vivos para os seus braços. Minha mente brincou comigo, onde por um momento eu achei que estava feliz de estar saindo do navio e poder abraçar a minha mãe novamente. Não me entenda mal, eu já entendi a sensação. Eu estava feliz de ver a pessoa que estava ali fora, não feliz porque eu queria estar ali fora novamente. O navio virou a minha zona segura, e agora voltando a minha realidade parecia mais uma aventura que eu não queria fazer parte. Ser um estranho no país dos outros é aceitável, mas ser um estranho na sua própria casa pode ser um obstáculo muito maior. 

– parte do que eu escrevi no meu jornal logo depois que saí do navio.

A semana de provas foi estressante, igual como é na faculdade. Mais estressante ainda era olhar para a cara do outro e saber que era os nossos últimos dias juntos. Tentamos de tudo juntos – ficamos sem dormir, assistimos muitos filmes, dançamos, comemos, conversávamos, tocávamos música – e não funcionava. Tentamos tudo que podíamos fazer para preencher aquele vazio que já estava ali. Já imaginávamos as nossa vidas sem o outro dentro do navio, onde todos os dias aprendíamos algo sobre o mundo e sobre nós mesmos. E verdade quando eles disseram que faríamos eternos amigos. Dizer adeus para os trabalhadores do navio também foi muito difícil, pôs eles completavam o meu dia-a-dia compartilhando suas historias comigo, e me inspirando de muitas maneiras.

Enquanto descia as escadas do navio pela última vez, finalmente lágrimas finalmente mostraram presença. Pronto, parei de fugir da ideia, e estava “caindo a ficha. 

Eu abracei minha mãe tão forte, foi maravilhoso finalmente vê-la novamente, mesmo que tenha parecido que ela estava comigo durante toda a jornada. Eu observei a todos indo embora com a sua família, ou partindo para suas novas aventuras, e pensei: Obrigada, Deus. Muito Obrigada.

Eu lembro da sensação de olhar fotos do navio e desejar estar ali. Eu lembro entrando no navio pela primeira vez, sem acreditar que o meu sonho estava finalmente se realizando. Eu ainda lembro como me perdia pelo navio nos primeiros dias, quando ainda não me parecia familiar. Eu lembro de sentir que ali virou a minha casa, e todos que ali estavam. Eu lembro de todos os países, todas as aventuras e todos que fizeram parte dela. E agora, eu me lembro da sensação de ter partido, e poder dizer que eu vivi esse sonho. Eu fiz com que ele se tornasse real, e isso nunca ninguém jamais tirará de mim.

Eu não só me lembro dos momentos, mas de como eu me senti, e é exatamente isso que me faz sentir viva e o que me lembra que tudo é possível. Se eu fiz com que isso acontecesse, eu posso fazer com que qualquer coisa aconteça. 

Agora, eu posso dizer que eu sou uma viajante, não uma turista. Obrigada Semestre no Mar, por ter me ensinado a ser uma cidadã do mundo.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

