Thoughts before Morocco

People’s reaction when I said I was leaving to Morocco was usually the same. Most of them just thought it was insanity, a young woman like me traveling alone in a Muslim country where I do not even know the language. So typical. And that is why I can’t stand the expected, the usual, the same. My soul feeds from the curious, mystical, unknown. Living in paradise can be very fortunate, but it just reminds me that there is much more out there to be discovered.

Since 9/11 not just the United States but the whole world have judged the Muslim countries and its people without even really knowing them. I have never experienced a country where 98% of its population was Muslim, and there is no better way to learn then being there.

I was worried at first. Having these “feminists” ideas of how women should be really treated, and throwing myself out there, was a big step. I read so much about women not being able to drive, not being able to vote, not allowed to walk alone or without head scarfs,  really freaked me out. I was ready to feel like a little aunt trying to protest and being stepped all over.

The last image I had from Morocco was from the Brazilian novel “O Clone,” where although they showed the beautiful culture, they also showed men having multiple wives, women not having a saying in anything and constantly afraid of being humiliated in the middle of the Medina.

Come on, I knew there was much more than that. Generalization is the biggest weapon in heads of society. The beauty of traveling is discovering you were wrong all along.

I got on that plane with just a suitcase and an open mind ready for anything. My heart was genuinely open to teach those kids the little I knew, and I was ready to learn much more from them. I knew the language barrier was going to be harsh – I knew no Arabic nor French (their second language). Not being able to communicate was something that I had been through before, and I could still remember how frustrating it can be.

But if it was easy, anyone would do it. It takes a lot to be a traveler not a tourist, and look every experience from the bright side.

Trust me, everything you know about Morocco is probably wrong.

I am fascinated by its people and its culture and I will try my best to share each and every amazing experience I had.

Salam!

Image

Pensamentos antes do Marrocos

A reação das pessoas quando disse que viajaria para o Marrocos foi quase sempre a mesma. Quase todos acharam insanidade, uma jovem mulher viajando sozinha em um país Islâmico onde eu nem sabia falar a língua. Tão típico. E por isso que eu não aguento o esperado, o normal, o mesmo. Minha alma se alimenta do curioso, do místico, do desconhecido. Morando no paraíso pode ser afortunado, mas só me lembra o quanto existe lá fora para ser descoberto.

Desde o incidente do dia 11 de Novembro, não só os Estados Unidos mas o mundo inteiro tem julgado os países Islâmicos e suas pessoas sem ao mesmo saber um pouco sobre eles. Eu nunca tinha tido uma experiência em um país onde 98% das pessoas são Islâmicas, e não existe a melhor maneira de aprender do que estando lá.

Eu estava preocupada no início. Tendo essas ideias “feministas” de como a mulher tem que ser tratada, e me jogando nesse mundo dessa maneira foi um grande passo. Eu li muito sobre mulheres sem direito de dirigir, de votar, sem puder andar sozinha ou sem o lenço, me assustou. Ei estava preparada para me sentir uma formiga tentando protestar e sendo pisoteada.

A última imagem do Marrocos que me restou foi da novela Brasileira “O Clone,” onde embora mostrassem a linda cultura, também mostravam homem tendo mais múltiplas mulheres, elas sem ter uma palavra em nada e constantemente com medo de serem humilhadas no meio da medina.

Pera lá né, eu sabia que existia muito mais do que aquilo. A generalização é a pior arma na mão da sociedade. A beleza de viajar é descobrir que você estava errado o tempo todo.

Eu entrei no avião somente com a minha mala e uma mente aberta para tudo. Meu coração genuinamente estava aberto para ensinar um pouco que sabia, e estava preparada para aprender muito mais deles. Eu sabia que a barreira da língua seria difícil – Eu não sabia nada de Árabe nem Francês (a segunda língua deles). A sensação de não poder se comunicar era um sentimento que eu já tinha sentido antes, e eu ainda me lembro de como era frustrante.

Mas se fosse fácil, todos fariam. Há a grande diferença de ser um viajante e um turista, e ver cada experiência por seu lado positivo.

Acreditem, tudo que vocês acham do Marrocos, está provavelmente errado.

Eu estou fascinada por suas pessoas e a sua cultura. Farei o melhor para compartilhar cada experiência maravilhosa que tive estando lá.

Salam!

Categories: Morocco | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

